BI 101 Laukkanen: Articles
Databases for research
Databases provide access to both journal articles (written by experts based on their own research) and magazine articles (written by professional journalists for a general audience). In addition, databases sometimes include videos and additional content.
General Interest Articles
- Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA collection of more than 800 periodicals, as well as travel handbooks and reference books. Provides coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism fields. A great resource for curious travelers and serious researchers.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text of general interest magazine articles, reference and travel books, biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags.
- New York Times (Articles Only) This link opens in a new windowFull text searchable content from nytimes.com and New York Times blogs from 1980 to the present.
Other Databases to Consider
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowScholarly, government and general-interest content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowVideos, interactive maps, news sources, refereed case studies, and primary source articles are included. Browseable by issue or topic as well as by location.
Types of Articles
There are many different types of articles. The chart below can help you figure out which type(s) you're looking for or identify an article you've already found:
 |
News articles provide the most current information. Certain newspapers, such as the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times, are also known for thoughtful, in-depth analyses of important topics and events. |
 |
Popular magazine articles can help you generate ideas about issues, controversies, or unanswered questions about a topic, which you might want to explore further. They sometimes refer to studies or scholarly work that you can track down for more information. |
 |
Trade publications are written by and for professionals within an industry. These are an excellent source of very specific information from inside the field. |
 |
Scholarly journal articles go through a process of peer review before they are published. They are written by experts in the field (the people with letters after their name!) and their purpose is to advance the ongoing body of work within the discipline. These articles might present original research data and findings, or take a position on a key question within the field. They can be difficult to read, because their intended audience is other experts and academics, but they are at the top of the line when it comes to authoritative information. |
Peer reviewed/Scholarly/Research Articles
New to scholarly science journals? Reading scientific literature is different than reading a novel or a news article. They are not as well written and they make you work harder to understand. Here are some tips on How To Read a Scientific Article:
How to Read a Scientific Paper
Purdue University's How To Read a Scientific Paper, is a short tutorial to help you get the most out of your research.
Michael Fosmire, author. Purdue University Libraries
How to Read a Scientific Article
Mary Purugganan and Jan Hewitt, authors. The Cain Project in Engineering and Professional Communication. Rice University
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- Biological Science Database This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from 280 biology journals, many of them peer-reviewed.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online. View the Science Direct handout.
What is Peer Review?
- Alt Text for What is Peer Review Infographic PCC LibGuidesThis is longform alt text for the "What is Peer Review?" Infographic.