Course Specific Research Support for LIB 127: Home
Information Research in a Field of Study or Profession course outcomes related to research skills:
Other indicators of required research or information seeking:
From the Course Activities and Design:
- Exploring current topics covered by the journals, books and websites of a discipline or profession.
- Comparing information across a variety of information sources.
- Summarizing an article or book chapter for peers.
- Writing blog posts or creating a short video.
- Interviewing experts about what they read to keep up in a field of research or profession.
- Evaluating a research database for scope, content and quality.
From the Outcome and Assessment Strategies:
- Research exercises
- Annotated bibliographies
- Literature reviews
- Research journals
Bridging competencies to support research and information seeking at this level:
- Understand the concept of scholarly conversation
- Locate library databases
- Identify discipline-specific discourse terms and jargon
- Identify keywords and concepts for a search strategy
Corresponding research and information seeking outcomes for LIB 127
- Devise a discipline-specific researchable topic
- Identify the information cycle for a field of study
- Identify evidence-based, peer reviewed, or industry-specific sources relevant to the chosen discipline
- Use library databases, information archives, or sortable datasets to locate relevant information
Librarian Instructional Objectives:
- Define and test possible topics for research in a specific field
- Identify information producers, the mechanics of how that information is disseminated and evaluated by practitioners in the field
- Locate and use professional level information sources, including those which are evidence based or peer reviewed
- Identify and use relevant and useful collections of information, including through library databases, archives (both print and electronic), or sortable datasets
Placement of courses on an Information Literacy Continuum
|Student's Developmental Stage
Connecting to College
1. I know where the library is located and about some of the services provided.
2. I can identify a topic, and identify useful information sources to read about it.
Information Literacy Skills
3. I can develop a topic statement, locate and use library sources, and begin informational research.
Academic or Career/ Technical Related
4. I evaluate the sources I have found for relevancy to my field, and I know who some of the experts are.
Inquiry and Exploration for Research
5. I can identify pro- and con-positions on a topic. I can identify the perspectives of various experts in a field.
Discipline- or Area of Study Specific
6. I can support my position on an issue with evidence. I can accurately summarize the scholarly or professional conversation.