HE 213 Men's Health (Meagher): Find Articles
Welcome
Use the tabs above to navigate this guide:
Find Articles - Scroll down to find peer-reviewed articles
Cite Sources - Tools for citing and using sources.
Get Help - Get help from a librarian 24x7, get support from a tutor,
or find a handout or tutorial to help you with your research.
Find Articles with EBSCO
Find articles in this search of Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier
Find Articles in Focused Library Databases
Databases are searchable collections of materials. The databases listed below contain journals in the fields of personal health.
Skim the descriptions below and try searching on your topic in at least 2 or 3 databases in order to locate relevant articles. Look for ways to limit to peer-reviewed journal articles, typically found as a check-box on the left or right hand sides of your search results.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFocusing on how gender impacts diverse subject areas, resources include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, as well as NGO and government publications. Archival material from as early as 1970 provides a historical perspective on the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and changes in gender roles. View the GenderWatch handout
- Health and Medicine Resources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch EBSCOhost's Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, and others (including Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier) at the same time. Topics include consumer health information, nursing and allied health, pre-clinical sciences, aging, and more.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowStart here if you are looking for scholarly (peer-reviewed) psychology articles. PsycINFO is the single most comprehensive psychology article collection. Full-text articles from PsycARTICLES are included here. View the PsycINFO handout [pdf].
Finding the Permanent link
To link to an article in a library database, look for the permanent link, so that it will prompt the MyPCC login. The URL at the top of the page, in the web address bar, will NOT work as a stable link.
Talking About Men's Health blog
Peer-review explained
Search words
What do I type in the search box? Matching your interests to an article can be tricky, so it's worth taking a moment to consider what words to use in a search. To prompt your thinking, imagine the title of the perfect article that would be of interest to you. What main ideas are included? Use a combination of the key concepts and phrases in a search to browse relevant articles.
Example search phrases:
cardiovascular health AND men AND aging
masculinity AND stereotypes AND advertising
gender differences AND life expectancy AND cancer
race AND health AND men
If you don't find full-text
If the article you have found in a library database doesn't have the full text right there, click on the "Find It" button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. The "Find It" button will look like this. 
If we do have it, it will take you to a page that provides you a link to the database in which the article is available (click on that link to access the article).
If we do not have it, you will see a "Get it" button to request a digital copy (PDF) of the article, which takes approximately 24 hours. The digital copy will be delivered to you via email.
What is Peer Review?
- Alt Text for What is Peer Review Infographic PCC LibGuidesThis is longform alt text for the "What is Peer Review?" Infographic.
Reading a Scholarly Article
Interactive tutorial that describes the parts and function of a scholarly article.
from NCSU Libraries