Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find published newspaper, magazine and academic journal articles in PCC Library databases:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press. Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Also a good source of ethnic recipes. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. View the Ethnic NewsWatch handout
Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
A unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American, South American and Spanish publishers. Full text coverage for more than 150 scholarly Spanish language journals.
Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Focusing on how gender impacts diverse subject areas, resources include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, as well as NGO and government publications. Archival material from as early as 1970 provides a historical perspective on the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and changes in gender roles. View the GenderWatch handout
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, from their earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. Does not include current issues of the journals. Video tutorials are available.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
More than 600,000 words defined, including historical meanings, word origins, and pronunciations. Examples of past usage are shown through quotations from a rich variety of English language sources.
Art and image databases
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor Includes more than 1.5 million images covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's software tools support viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. You must register to save any images for future reference and to use ARTstor's sophisticated presentation tools. You also must register to access ARTstor from off-campus.
Video: Find Articles through the PCC Library