Psychology: Find Background Information
Good Sources for Background Information
This list contains links to collections of online encyclopedias, manuals, and more where you can get background information on a particular disorder, treatment, theory, psychologist, and more.
- Psychology EncyclopediasSearch this specific set of psychology encyclopedias from Gale eBooks
- National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)The NIMH has expert-reviewed information pages on a variety of mental health disorders and treatments.
- Mayo Clinic Diseases and ConditionsComprehensive guide to symptoms, causes, risk factors, and treatment options for both physical and mental illnesses from one of the most respected hospitals in the world.
- Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides online versions of 500 published reference works, including general and specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias. Try the Concept Map to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in a visual form.
- WikipediaThe Wikipedia is useful for providing an overview of topics and is particularly strong in the sciences. It can also be helpful in coming up with keywords to use in later searching and for leading you to additional sources (using the bibliography at the end of the entry).
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by Call Number: 616.89 D53 2013ISBN: 9780890425541Only available in print at all PCC campus libraries.
Professional Organizations
Professional organizations may include useful information about a disorders, treatments, and/or current research.
- American Psychological AssociationThe largest professional organization for psychologists. The APA website contains information about APA publications and other news in the field of psychology. Also, it contains links to other psychology sites, as well as opportunities for research.
- Academy for Eating DisordersA multidisciplinary professional organization focused on eating disorders research and treatment. Website offers information on group memberships, annual conferences, and links.
- American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)Website has information on AACAP membership, meetings, publications, research and more.
- American Association of Community Psychiatrists (AACP)Website contains the association's mission statement as well as links to electronic communities, information about conferences, and links related to community psychiatry.
- American Association of Geriatric PsychiatryWebsite provides news, facts, tools, and expert information for adults coping with mental health issues and aging. Also includes materials for the medical community and other professionals with an interest in geriatric mental health, as well as an online catalog of AAGP news, events, and the association's background
- Anxiety Disorders Association of AmericaThe ADAA promotes the prevention and cure of anxiety disorders and works to improve the lives of all people who suffer from them. The association consists of professionals who conduct research and treat anxiety disorders, and individuals who have a personal or general interest in learning more about such disorders.
- National Centre for Eating DisordersThis site provides information and help on all aspects of eating disorders including Anorexia Nervosa, Bulimia Nervosa, Compulsive Overeating Disorder, and related eating disorders.
- National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression (NARSAD)Website contains information about the NARSAD as well as links to information about research grants, publications, and facts on brain disorders.
- National Center for PTSDHelp for U.S. Veterans and others through research, education, and training on trauma and PTSD.
- Society for Research in Child DevelopmentThe purposes of the society are to promote multidisciplinary research in the field of human development, to foster the exchange of information among scientists and other professionals of various disciplines, and to encourage applications of research findings.