Psychology: Getting Started
In this Guide
This guide is designed to help students do research in psychology, discover psychology resources available through the library, and get help if you need it!
Use the tabs above to navigate through the other pages of the guide:
Have a research assignment? Try the Psychology Research Tutorial!
This interactive tutorial will help you find quality sources for your Biological Anthropology assignment using Library databases and Google Scholar.
Databases to find Peer Reviewed Articles in Psychology
Search these databases to find articles on topics related to psychology. While some of these databases only contain peer-reviewed articles, in others, you will need to check a box to limit your search to peer-reviewed (also called scholarly) articles. I would also suggest looking at the full list of library databases if your topic is multidisciplinary. Some research projects might require searching in areas such as gender studies, gerontology, or communication studies, for which we have specific subject databases.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowStart here if you are looking for scholarly (peer-reviewed) psychology articles. PsycINFO is the single most comprehensive psychology article collection. Full-text articles from PsycARTICLES are included here. View the PsycINFO handout [pdf].
- Psychology Resources This link opens in a new windowSearch EBSCOhost's Psychology Collection, Academic Search Premier, and MasterFile Premier at the same time. Topics in the Psychology Collection include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
- PubMedPubMed contains 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Full text not available? Use PCC Library Interlibrary Loan to request the article, and receive it in 3-5 days.
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new windowThis database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs and focuses on the mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Subject coverage includes traumatic stress and mental health, assessment, prevention, treatment, mental health services, professional ethics, public policy, and traumatized populations.
Research Appointments Box
Schedule an appointment with a librarian to get help finding and citing information. Learn more about Library Research Help Appointments.
Need help with your assignment? Make an online appointment with a research librarian.
Make an in-person appointment with a research librarian.