Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Organizations and advocacy groups relevant to the study of Environmental Science.
Thinning versus clearcutting, by Sam Beebe. Used under CC by NC.
Center for Humans & Nature
Featured questions with responses with opposing views; Minding Nature journal articles; blog. A good site for finding insight about humans' impact on the environment
Earth Share of Oregon
Nonprofit federation of 70 conservation groups in Oregon
Citizens' advocacy group working to promote environmental protection and energy efficiency.
An affiliate of the Redwood Coast Watersheds Alliance, this is an advocacy group concerned with various environmental issues.
A nonprofit organization that certifies farms and ranches and food handlers (including packers, processors and distributors) for sustainable agricultural and business practices
Institute for Natural Resources (Oregon)
Hosted by Oregon State University, providing data and information about environmental projects in Oregon
Regional urban planning. Includes garbage and recycling, sustainable living, maps, parks and stewardship
Northwest Earth Institute
Discussion courses, course resources, volunteer opportunities
Oregon Environmental Council
Non-profit, non-partisan organization. Works to advocate for improvement in the environment for Oregonians
Developed in partnership with the city of Portland with the collaboration of many other Northwest municipalities, the Salmon-Safe park and natural area initiative is a system-wide approach that relies on a comprehensive evaluation of a land management agency's overall management policies and planning related to habitat and water quality protection.
Provides dedicated, nonpartisan support for a community-oriented, conservation-based economy in the West
Urban Ecosystem Research Consortium of Portland/Vancouver
"...a forum for professionals to exchange and discuss information regarding urban ecology and its application to relevant fields."
Western Environmental Law Center
Nonprofit "public interest law firm" headquartered in Eugene, Oregon, with five regional offices across the West, pursuing protection of wilderness and related environmental concerns
Environmental Studies Tools
Air Quality Indicators for over 400 cities in the United States. EPA, NOAA, National Park Service, tribal, state, and local agency data is compiled for hourly reports.
Carbon Footprint Calculator
Easy to use calculator from the EPA
Climate Change 2014: Mitigation of Climate Change
United Nations, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. Panel summary and full report.
Climate Change: Vital Signs of the Planet
Key climate indicators, satellite maps showing changes worldwide. Sponsored by NASA
Climate Change Guide (PCC Library)
Climate change through different perspectives
Search for recyclers by material and zip code
National Geographic education collection
A non-profit organization which maintains a database of thousands of sites related to environmentalism.
Environmental Policy Collection
Environmental Science Digital Collection, University of North Texas. Open access, selective depository of reports, reviews, and policy statements from professional organizations and agencies, worldwide.
Europe's Environment: Assessment of the Assessments
State of the environment report from the European Environment Agency
Green Century Funds
Review mutual funds of companies that use sustainable practices
Learn More About Climate
From the University of Colorado Boulder, introductory videos, images, articles, to explain the key concepts of climate change
Washington County (Oregon) residents can search their address, and view the potential for solar energy levels available, based on LIDAR data.
NDSL | OER Commons
National Science Digital Library: the nation's online library for education and research in science, technology, engineering and mathematics
Introductory information, videos, and tracking of current or potential tsunamis world wide
OECD Better Life Index
Compare "well-being" based on several factors for eleven countries. Sponsored by the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development
Oregon Coastal Atlas
Web map server which can be used by visitors to view a variety of standard, preformatted and commonly requested base and overlay data served in the Atlas archives
Oregon's Forest Action Plan
Published by the Oregon Department of Forestry.
An information gateway sponsored by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs. This section shows both current and historical natural disasters
State of our Watersheds Report
Report tracks the state of regional watersheds. From the Northwest Indian Fisheries Commission
Toxic Release Inventory Program
Toxic chemical releases and waste management for certain industries, searchable by zip code. From the EPA.
What We Know
American Association for the Advancement of Science provides the documents for this site, which examines the current facts for climate change