News Articles: National Sources
What's here?
The sources below include well-regarded U.S. news organizations that cover a mix of national and international news. While some of these are available for free through a library subscription (see News Databases from the Library), others are available on the free web. None of the websites listed on this page currently have a paywall in place. Also included are instructions for how to sign up for a free New York Times subscription through PCC.
To find a news story on your topic: Each website or database can be searched, so you can search using keywords relevant to your topic. If you need an article from a specific time period, many can be sorted by date or, in some cases, limited to specific date ranges.
Quality News Sources on the Web
In addition to these, you'll find free access to the five largest U.S. Newspapers (The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Chicago Tribune, The LA Times, and The Washington Post) in the database U.S. Major Dailies, linked to your right.
- The Associated Press (AP)A non-profit news agency since 1846, which produces news reports that are often published in other local and national newspapers.
- The ConversationA nonprofit, independent news organization that publishes trustworthy and informative articles written by academic experts for the general public and edited by a team of journalists.
- NPR (National Public Radio)National and world news from National Public Radio. Most news stories offer the ability to read or listen to them.
- PBS (Public Broadcasting Service) News HourA non-profit public media news organization with a nightly hour-long television broadcast. Some news can be read or watched as videos.
- ProPublicaAn independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest.
Sign up for Free New York Times Access through PCC Library
Portland Community College Library is now providing access to the New York Times. This subscription includes:
- Unlimited access on NYTimes.com. Includes: articles, multimedia with interactive graphics, videos, photography, and virtual reality found in the NYT App (stories told through enhanced technology), newsletters and podcasts
- No daily limit to the number of articles you can download
- Archives (dating back to 1851) (5 PDF article downloads from Times Machine per user per day/100 per month)
- Spanish and Mandarin Chinese versions of NYTimes.com.
Click here to create your New York Times account. You'll need to search for Portland Community College and then follow the instructions on the page.
Click here if you already have a subscription or are looking for more information.
News Databases from the Library
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowThis platform contains 7,000+ newspapers and magazines, including international sources from many countries, in many languages. (Please ignore the access countdown. Your time will reset at each login.) Download your favorite publications to your device to read anytime, anywhere.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowFull text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, newspaper columns as well as 24 TV and radio news transcripts. Also contains indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
- Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press. Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Also a good source of ethnic recipes. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. View the Ethnic NewsWatch handout
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new windowA full text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. View the Alt-Press Watch handout.