ESOL 260 Krause Summer 2022: Find Periodical Articles
Find a Periodical Article Related To Your Topic
A good place to start your search for a newspaper or magazine article is by using the Articles tab from the search screen in the middle of the library homepage.
On the search results page, use the Limit To section on the left side of the screen to narrow your results to magazine and newspaper articles. You can also limit the articles by date for currency, and by "full-text" to find only articles that PCC has full access to.
Click on the title of an article to open it. Use the Tools menu on the right side of the screen to E-mail a copy of the article to yourself, including an MLA citation for the article. You can also use the Cite button to find the MLA citation.
In the articles databases, don't use whole sentences to search. Instead, choose 1-3 main keywords. For example, when researching how exercise can help make people feel happier and less stressed, you might try searching: exercise and stress reduction.
It's also a good idea to search multiple times using different search terms. For example, instead of the word exercise, I could try searching with the term physical activity. Try to think of some synonyms for your search terms (words that means the same thing).
Other Article Databases
In addition to the Articles tab, here are a few other article databases to explore for newspaper and magazine articles.
- Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowFeatures full text coverage of the top 1,000 most searched magazines across Gale's InfoTrac. Current events, sports, science, health and more.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowFull text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, newspaper columns as well as 24 TV and radio news transcripts. Also contains indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.