HE 242 Stress and Human Health (Meagher): Find Articles
Find Articles in Focused Library Databases
Databases collect articles from magazines and journals. These databases contain journal articles in the fields of health and well-being
- Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 180 publications (many peer-reviewed) covering alternative and complementary medicine.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals including nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, medicine, general health and more.
- Health and Medicine Resources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch EBSCOhost's Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, and others (including Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier) at the same time. Topics include consumer health information, nursing and allied health, pre-clinical sciences, aging, and more.
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowScholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowStart here if you are looking for scholarly (peer-reviewed) psychology articles. PsycINFO is the single most comprehensive psychology article collection. Full-text articles from PsycARTICLES are included here. View the PsycINFO handout [pdf].
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online. View the Science Direct handout.
Finding the Permanent link
Look for the permanent link (Permalink) to find the article again. Do not use the URL in the address bar. URLs will NOT work as a stable link.
Reading a Scholarly Article
Interactive tutorial that describes the parts and function of a scholarly article.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
from NCSU Libraries
What is Peer Review?
- Alt Text for What is Peer Review Infographic PCC LibGuidesThis is longform alt text for the "What is Peer Review?" Infographic.
Peer-review explained
If you don't find full-text
If the article you have found in a library database doesn't have the full text right there, click on the "Find It" button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. The "Find It" button will look like this. 
If we do have it, it will take you to a page that provides you a link to the database in which the article is available (click on that link to access the article).
If we do not have it, you will see a "Get it" button to request a digital copy (PDF) of the article, which takes approximately 24 hours. The digital copy will be delivered to you via email.
