FN 211: Personal & Social Frameworks for Nutrition and Healthy Aging: Research articles
How to find research articles
Below you'll find links to suggested library databases for locating articles from peer-reviewed or scholarly journals that present original research. I've also provided some search tips and information about how to work with the results in a library database.
- Find articles in peer-reviewed journalsInstructions and search advice for finding articles in peer-reviewed journals.
- Find a REVIEW article in Science DirectInstruction and search tips for finding a review article -- one that summarizes current research on a topic -- in the Science Direct database.
Recommended Databases
- Health and Medicine Resources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch EBSCOhost's Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, and others (including Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier) at the same time. Topics include consumer health information, nursing and allied health, pre-clinical sciences, aging, and more.
- Psychology Resources This link opens in a new windowSearch EBSCOhost's Psychology Collection, Academic Search Premier, and MasterFile Premier at the same time. Topics in the Psychology Collection include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online. View the Science Direct handout.
Find Articles with Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals
- American Journal of Clinical NutritionPublishes the latest research on topics in nutrition, such as obesity, vitamins and minerals, nutrition and disease, and energy metabolism.
- Journal of NutritionPublishes peer-reviewed original research papers covering all aspects of experimental nutrition in humans and other animal species; special articles such as reviews and biographies of prominent nutrition scientists; and issues, opinions, and commentaries on controversial issues in nutrition.
- Nutrition ResearchPublishes research articles, communications, and reviews on all aspects of basic and applied nutrition. The mission of Nutrition Research is to serve as the journal for global communication of nutrition and life sciences research on diet and health. The field of nutritional sciences includes, but is not limited to, the study of nutrients during growth, reproduction, aging, and disease.
- American Journal of Public Health (AJPH)AJPH is dedicated to publication of original work in research, research methods, and program evaluation in the field of public health. The mission of the Journal is to advance public health research, policy, practice, and education.
- Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (JAND)The Journal focuses on advancing professional knowledge across the range of research and practice issues such as: nutritional science, medical nutrition therapy, public health nutrition, food science and biotechnology, foodservice systems, leadership and management, and dietetics education.
- NutritionPresents advances in nutrition research and science, informs its readers on new and advancing technologies and new data in clinical nutrition practice, encourages the application of the techniques of outcomes research and meta-analyses to problems in patient-related nutrition; and seeks to help clarify and set the research, policy and practice agenda for nutrition science to enhance human well-being in the years ahead.
- Nutrition ReviewsNutrition Reviews specializes in the publication of authoritative and critical literature reviews on current and emerging topics in nutrition science, food science, clinical nutrition, and nutrition policy.
- GastronomicaWith its diverse voices, cross-disciplinary mix of articles, and cross-cultural orientation, Gastronomica takes food as a starting point to probe timely and necessary questions about the role of food in everyday life.
**Some articles may require Interlibrary Loan to access full text. - The GerontologistA bimonthly journal of The Gerontological Society of America that provides a multidisciplinary perspective on human aging by publishing research and analysis on applied social issues.
Science news aggregators
- Eureka!AlertPublished by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Few or no advertisements.
- Science DailyBrowse or search the latest in science research about health, the environment, and more.
Video: Find Articles through the PCC Library
Peer-review explained
What is Peer Review?
- Alt Text for What is Peer Review Infographic PCC LibGuidesThis is longform alt text for the "What is Peer Review?" Infographic.
Reading a Scholarly Article
Interactive tutorial that describes the parts and function of a scholarly article.
from NCSU Libraries
If you don't find full-text
If the article you have found in a library database doesn't have the full text right there, click on the "Find It" button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. The "Find It" button will look like this. 
If we do have it, it will take you to a page that provides you a link to the database in which the article is available (click on that link to access the article).
If we do not have it, you will see a "Get it" button to request a digital copy (PDF) of the article, which takes approximately 24 hours. The digital copy will be delivered to you via email.
