Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PCC Library databases
Health and Medicine Resources (EBSCOhost)
Search multiple databases including: Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, and others (including Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier) at the same time. Topics include nutrition, consumer health information, nursing and allied health, pre-clinical sciences, aging, and more.
You can filter results to just peer-reviewed articles or just magazines, and also limit by publication date. Use tools on left side of screen.
Full text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online. View the Science Direct handout
Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile)
Includes 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as reference content. Coverage includes searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information; does not include peer-reviewed journal articles.
Find Articles with Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar
for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
If you don't find full-text
If the article you have found in a library database doesn't have the full text right there, click on the "Find It" button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database.
If we do have it, it will take you to a page that provides you a link to the database in which the article is available (click on that link to access the article).
If we do not have it, you will see a link to request the article through Interlibrary Loan, which takes approximately three days (though it may take more).
The "Find It" button will look like this.
Free Medical Databases for research
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Trip stands for "Translating Research Into Practice".
A free clinical search engine, designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. As well as research evidence Trip also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Free online sources for nutrition information