Your Career Development

A self-service guide for career exploration and development for PCC students and staff.

Career Exploration

Choosing a career involves discovering the intersection between “who you are” and “where you fit” in the world of work.  Be informed as you make choices about your future career and invest $$ in your education –“… knowledge is power, knowledge is safety, and knowledge is happiness" (Thomas Jefferson, November 1817).

PCC's Career Exploration Center

Careers and Job Search videos

Watch and listen to programs about careers, job search tips and how to  be successful at work. In the Films on Demand library database.

Get the Facts About Different Kinds of Jobs

What exactly does a chef do? What do you need to do to get to drive a train? Find out all about different occupations:

Oregon Career Information System
One stop shopping! Learn about the world of work and education. with a focus on Oregon. Assess your skills, interests and values; explore occupations, careers and employment; and find out the education and training you need for the career you want. From the College of Education at the University of Oregon. Some content is available from PCC networked computers only.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Get the quick details on all kinds of careers and jobs, like working conditions, educational requirements, jobs prospects, average salary or wage.

O*Net Online
A tool for career exploration and job analysis, from US Dept of Labor. Provides descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more.

Explore Different Careers

Career Exploration movies.
People in a variety of professions talk about how they got into their careers.

Career Resource Centers [website]
PCC's Career Centers offer career advising, computers for occupational research, and career libraries of books and handouts. Staff share their expertise and guide you to resources you can use to make important decisions about your education and career, including career assessments, occupational information, employment outlook, information on colleges and universities,and education and training requirements.

College Source [website]
An online collection of college catalogs. Search by college name, geographic area, or specific

U.S. News and World Reports - Best Careers [website]
Offers lots of information about different careers, including profiles of 30 careers that offer strong outlooks and high job satisfaction in 2009.

Vocational and Career Collection [database]
EBSCOhost. Full text coverage for 400 trade and industry-related periodicals including American MachinistContemporary Longterm CareWireless WeekDrug Store NewsVideo BusinessReeves JournalHotel and Motel Management,Restaurant BusinessAdvertising Age, and many more.

Listen to TED Talks about careers, from people who really know what they're talking about!

Choosing a Career Resources

oregon career information system logo

U.S. news and world report best jobs logo