Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Scholar and finding access to articles
Google Scholar will help you find scholarly books and journal articles. In some cases, you'll be able to connect from Google Scholar into library databases to read articles immediately; in other cases, data from Google Scholar can be used to fill out interlibrary loan requests for articles we can't access through PCC databases. Google Scholar also helps you discover related articles to expand your search.
- Set your library links to include Portland Community College - Find It @ PCC.
- If Find It @ PCC doesn't appear on the right, click >> to open Find It @ PCC, then click to request the book or article.
- Use Related Articles to expand your search
- If you use the Cite link, check the citation before you turn in your paper.
Databases to try
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is the best source PCC has for articles on history, archaeology, folklore, and many other topics.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor Includes more than 1.5 million images covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's software tools support viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline. You must register to save any images for future reference and to use ARTstor's sophisticated presentation tools. You also must register to access ARTstor from off-campus.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Focused on issues in popular culture. Provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. A collection of more than 100 subject-appropriate full text periodicals.
World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Contains some articles on Viking topics, but less useful than might be expected.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a starting point for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, it contains millions of articles available in full-text. Includes full-text New York Times content from 1995 to present.
Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Vikings (780-1100)
A brief overview with excellent images and links to more.
Viking Ship Museum, Norway
Contains the best-preserved Viking ship. plus a ship-burial.
Field Museum (Chicago): Vikings!
This exhibit focuses on everyday lives, trade, farming, and religious beliefs.
Primary written sources
From the Viking Ship Museum in Denmark, a brief introduction to contemporary writings about and by Vikings.
Project Gutenberg's freely readable and downloadable translation of the Prose Edda, or Younger Edda, by Snorri Sturluson.
Poetic, or Elder Edda
Includes both the Elder Edda by Saemund Sigfusson and the Younger (Prose) Edda by Snorri Sturluson, freely readable and downloadable from Project Gutenberg
Freely readable and downloadable translation of a 14th-century Icelandic saga, courtesy of Project Gutenberg.