HST 244 - Vikings: Researching Vikings
A quick guide to library sources for essays about the Vikings and their culture.
Google Scholar and finding access to articles
Google Scholar will help you find scholarly books and journal articles. In some cases, you'll be able to connect from Google Scholar into library databases to read articles immediately; in other cases, data from Google Scholar can be used to fill out interlibrary loan requests for articles we can't access through PCC databases. Google Scholar also helps you discover related articles to expand your search.
- Set your library links to include Portland Community College - Find It @ PCC.
- If Find It @ PCC doesn't appear on the right, click >> to open Find It @ PCC, then click to request the book or article.
- Use Related Articles to expand your search
- If you use the Cite link, check the citation before you turn in your paper.
Databases to try
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis is the best source PCC has for articles on history, archaeology, folklore, and many other topics.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowBeginning March 25, 2024, ARTstor is being redirected to JSTOR images. The ARTstor platform will be retiring in Summer 2024. JSTOR/ARTstor images include more than 3.5 million images. You must register for a JSTOR account to save any images for future reference and to use JSTOR's presentation tools. To register for a user account, you must either be logged into JSTOR from on campus or through the JSTOR database link on the library website. To stay logged in, select “Keep me Logged In” when registering for an account.
- Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowFocused on issues in popular culture. Provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. A collection of more than 100 subject-appropriate full text periodicals.
- World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowContains some articles on Viking topics, but less useful than might be expected.
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowAcademic OneFile is a starting point for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, it contains millions of articles available in full-text. Includes full-text New York Times content from 1995 to present.
Useful websites
- Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Vikings (780-1100)A brief overview with excellent images and links to more.
- Viking Ship Museum, NorwayContains the best-preserved Viking ship. plus a ship-burial.
- Field Museum (Chicago): Vikings!This exhibit focuses on everyday lives, trade, farming, and religious beliefs.
- Primary written sourcesFrom the Viking Ship Museum in Denmark, a brief introduction to contemporary writings about and by Vikings.
- Prose EddaProject Gutenberg's freely readable and downloadable translation of the Prose Edda, or Younger Edda, by Snorri Sturluson.
- Poetic, or Elder EddaIncludes both the Elder Edda by Saemund Sigfusson and the Younger (Prose) Edda by Snorri Sturluson, freely readable and downloadable from Project Gutenberg
- Grettir's SagaFreely readable and downloadable translation of a 14th-century Icelandic saga, courtesy of Project Gutenberg.
