Sociology: Find Articles

Find Articles with EBSCO

Find articles in this search of Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier

Search EBSCO Databases
Limit Your Results

Find Articles with Google Scholar

Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:

  1. Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar
  2. using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
  3. checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”, 
  4. and then selecting the Save button.

This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).

You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website

Find Articles with JSTOR

JSTOR Logo
Search in:
 

Need help? See the "How to Search JSTOR" guide.

 

Find Alternative News Articles

Find Articles in Focused Library Databases

Types of Articles

There are many different types of articles. The chart below can help you figure out which type(s) you're looking for or identify an article you've already found:

Decorative image of a newspaper News articles provide the most current information. Certain newspapers, such as the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times, are also known for thoughtful, in-depth analyses of important topics and events.
Decorative image of a magazine cover Popular magazine articles can help you generate ideas about issues, controversies, or unanswered questions about a topic, which you might want to explore further. They sometimes refer to studies or scholarly work that you can track down for more information.
Decorative image of a trade magazine cover Trade publications are written by and for professionals within an industry. These are an excellent source of very specific information from inside the field.
Decorative image of a scholarly journal cover Scholarly journal articles go through a process of peer review before they are published. They are written by experts in the field (the people with letters after their name!) and their purpose is to advance the ongoing body of work within the discipline. These articles might present original research data and findings, or take a position on a key question within the field. They can be difficult to read, because their intended audience is other experts and academics, but they are at the top of the line when it comes to authoritative information.

What is Peer Review?

Infographic describing the peer-review process.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Interactive tutorial that describes the parts and function of a scholarly article.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

from NCSU Libraries

If you don't find full-text

If the article you have found in a library database doesn't have the full text right there, click on the "Find It" button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database.

If we do have it, it will take you to a page that provides you a link to the database in which the article is available (click on that link to access the article).

If we do not have it, you will see a link to request the article through Interlibrary Loan, which takes approximately three days (though it may take more).

The "Find It" button will look like this. Button that says "Find It" as it is seen on PCC Library databases