Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below are several databases that include research in the dental field. Click any database name to start your search!
Health and Medicine Resources (EBSCOhost)
Search EBSCOhost's Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, and others (including Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier) at the same time. Topics include consumer health information, nursing and allied health, pre-clinical sciences, aging, and more.
The most comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals including nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, medicine, general health and more.
Full text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online. View the Science Direct handout
Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including allied health. Citations available from 1965 - present; some full text.
Full text for over 180 publications (many peer-reviewed) covering alternative and complementary medicine.
Find Articles with Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See Using Google Scholar
for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
Reading a Scholarly Article
The following list includes scholarly journals related to dental topics available online through the Library's database subscriptions. Follow the link, and then click on "view it" to see a list of databases in which the journal can be accessed.
Keep current on developments and advances in general dentistry with abstracts, graphs, tables, and figures from original research articles.
Full-text articles on clinical and laboratory research which focuses on the properties or performance of dental materials or the reaction of host tissues to materials.
Journal of the American Dental Association
News updates and peer-reviewed research articles on current topics in dentistry, clinical practice, legal topics in dentistry, and continuing education materials.
Journal of Dental Education
Excellent source of oral health research in such areas as genetics and the brain, innovative testing methodologies, curriculum reform, reviews of clinical trials regarding oral, dental, and craniofacial diseases and disorder.
Journal of Dentistry
Geared toward an international readership, Journal of Dentistry provides excellent information on management of dental disease, long-term clinical trials, evaluation of dental equipment, new experimental techniques, epidemiology and oral health, dental biomaterials science, restorative dentistry, periodontology, endodontology, operative dentistry, prosthodontics, pediatric dentistry, orthodontics and dental education.
Journal of Periodontology
Full-text scientific articles focused on practice, education, and research in the dental specialty of periodontics.
Journal of Prosthetic Dentistry
Peer-reviewed articles on the newest techniques, dental materials, and research findings. Make sure to check out the excellent full color step-by-step illustrations explaining many dental procedures.
Journal of Public Health Dentistry
Full-text articles, reviews, and reports on oral epidemiology, dental health services, behavioral sciences, and public health practice areas of assessment, policy development, and other issues in public health dentistry.
Oral Surgery, Oral Medicine, Oral Pathology, Oral Radiology and Endontics
Comprehensive source of medical and surgical techniques within dentistry. Coverage includes topics such as dental implants, treatment of HIV-infected patients, and evaluation and treatment of TMJ disorders.