Journalism: Research tools
Find Articles about Journalism
Search these databases to find articles about trends and topics in Journalism.
-
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles relating to all aspects of communication and mass media.
-
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowOver 250 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Newspaper databases
-
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new windowA full text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. View the Alt-Press Watch handout.
-
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press. Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Also a good source of ethnic recipes. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. View the Ethnic NewsWatch handout
-
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to selected articles from nearly 2,500 major newspapers, including U.S. regional, national, and local papers as well as leading titles from around the world. Does not include The Oregonian.
-
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowFull text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, newspaper columns as well as 24 TV and radio news transcripts. Also contains indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
-
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
Explanations & background reports
Need an explanation or an overview of an issue? Give one of these databases a try when you need to get a handle on a topic or an issue.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowTopical, full text reports on controversial issues. Each report features a summary, chronology, and bibliography. Updated weekly.
-
Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
Find statistics and other data sources from Statista
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries. Use the search tool to locate current, vetted statistics on a broad range of subjects, or use the Research AI tool to enter a natural language query.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is an all-in-one statistics and data platform perfect for PCC students across all disciplines. It offers access to over a million charts, graphs, and infographics covering topics in business, health, technology, social sciences, and more. Students can easily download visuals for use in presentations, papers, and research projects in formats like Excel, PowerPoint, and PDF. Every data point includes citation tools in APA, MLA, and Chicago styles, making academic referencing simple. Statista is a reliable, easy-to-use resource for finding up-to-date, trustworthy data to support your coursework and projects.
Video: What are Library Databases and Why do you Need Them?
Journalism print and ebooks in PCC Library
The following links will take you to books, videos and other library materials on that topic in the PCC Library:
-
Interviewing: the Oregon method
by
From the University of Oregon, Center for Journalism Innovation and Civic Engagement. " Interviewing is a primer for the digital age yet one embracing age-old lessons that make clear the crucial importance of successful interviewing techniques for productive civic engagement." -
Writing for News Media : the Storyteller’s Craft
by
Call Number: Cascade Library 808.06 P53w 2018A down-to-earth guide on how to write news stories for online, print and broadcast audiences -
Community-Centered Journalism : engaging people, exploring solutions, and building trust
by
Call Number: Ebook - read online -
Reimagining Journalism in a Post-Truth World: how late-night comedians, Internet trolls, and savvy reporters are transforming news
by
Call Number: Sylvania library 071.309 M33r 2018
