Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the tabs above to navigate the pages of the guide:
- Getting Started - Scroll down to find books, articles, videos, and more for your research.
- Cite Sources - Tools for citing and using sources.
- Get Help - Get help from a librarian 24x7, get support from a tutor,
or find a handout or tutorial to help you with your research
Find Articles about Journalism
Search these databases to find articles about trends and topics in Journalism.
Explanations & background reports
Need an explanation or an overview of an issue? Give one of these databases a try when you need to get a handle on a topic or an issue.
Topical, full text reports on controversial issues. Each report features a summary, chronology, and bibliography. Updated weekly.
Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL)
Gale eBooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press. Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Also a good source of ethnic recipes. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. View the Ethnic NewsWatch handout
News (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to selected articles from nearly 2,500 major newspapers, including U.S. regional, national, and local papers as well as leading titles from around the world. Does not include The Oregonian.
Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, newspaper columns as well as 24 TV and radio news transcripts. Also contains indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
Find Books, eBooks & Videos
The Library search box is your starting point to find books, ebooks, DVDs, and other materials.
Oregonian coverage of summer 2020 protests for racial justice
"Portland's Burning Heart" uses a combination of iPhone footage, on-the-ground photography and haunting voice over to tell the story of Portland's ongoing street protests from the perspective of a woman who knows them well: Emmy-winning photojournalist Beth Nakamura of The Oregonian. Beth is the burning heart at the center of the film, and over the course of its 13 minutes we watch as she evolves from local reporter to teargas-dodging, stab-vest-wearing conflict journalist.
Interviews with Journalists
Journalism in PCC Library
The following links will take you to books, videos and other library materials on that topic in the PCC Library:
Check out The Bridge, PCC's online student newspaper. Interested in the former printed edition? Check out The Bridge (1974-2002). Want to get involved? You can write for the bridge, too: http://pccbridge.com/index.php/write-for-us/
Chat a Librarian for Help
Need to talk to a librarian? Use our chat system. Click the button to open the chat window.
Chat with a Librarian!
The guide was created by Torie Scott, PCC librarian at the Cascade campus library
Available Monday- Friday; working remotely through Spring 2021