Writing: Find a Topic
Turning an Interest into a Research Question
In this video, you’ll learn how to turn something you find interesting into a researchable question for a college research project.
Policy & research institutes
Policy and research institutes conduct and publish credible research, often including polls, and advocacy on social, political, cultural or economic issues. While most policy and research institutes are non-profit organizations, some have a political or ideological slant.
- Brookings InstituteThe Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC.
- Carnegie Endowment for International PeaceTheir mission is to advance the cause of peace through analysis and development of fresh policy ideas and direct engagement and collaboration with decision makers in government, business, and civil society.
- Cato InstituteThe Cato Institute is a public policy research organization dedicated to the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets and peace.
- Center for American ProgessThe Center for American Progress is an independent, progressive, nonpartisan policy institute dedicated to improving the lives of all Americans.
- Council on Foreign RelationsThe Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher.
- Gallup PollCurrent polls and research on a wide variety of topics. They often track polling responses over time, so you can see shifts in public opinion.
- Heritage FoundationThe Heritage Foundation is a research and educational institution—a think tank—whose mission is to formulate and promote conservative public policies.
- Kaiser Family FoundationKaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.
- Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is an independent center that conducts polls and studies.
Google search tips
Add site:edu or site:gov to limit your search to .edu or .gov sites
Limiting your search to the areas of the web where the information is most reliable, such as education sites or government sites is a good way to find credible sources.
For example, a search for nutritional supplements, will bring up many commercial (.com) sites trying to sell you vitamins. If you search for nutritional supplements site:gov , the top results (except for the sponsored ads) will be sites such as the National Institute of Health and the Food and Drug Administration, which are authoritative, unbiased sources that are not trying to sell you anything.
If you search for nutritional supplements site:edu, your top results will be from universities providing research on nutritional supplements.
Use a minus sign to exclude words.
For example, if you are looking for weather information in Portland, Maine you could add -oregon to your search to exclude web sites with the word "oregon."
Or to exclude commercial web sites, add -site:com to your search. For example, nutritional supplements -site:com
- "How To Google Like A Pro! Top 10 Google Search Tips & Tricks 2020"Video tutorial (5:40 minutes)
Paper Topic Ideas
- Paper Topic IdeasSo, you've gotten an assignment that involves doing some research and writing about a particular topic but you're having a hard time getting started because you can't think of a topic? This is a common and frustrating, problem and PCC librarians want to help!
Hot Topics
The following websites and library databases can help you come up with great focused topic ideas:
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowA one-stop source for information on current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles on both sides of an issue, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full text magazine and newspaper articles. View the Opposing Viewpoints handout [pdf]
- SIRS Issues ResearcherAn curated pro/con database for students and educators providing overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and selected primary and secondary sources.
- Google NewsA news search may net you articles that provide a good overview of your topic as well as the various viewpoints, issues, and public opinion surrounding it. For a really recent issue, this is particularly valuable, as there may not be anything in encyclopedias.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowTopical, full text reports on controversial issues. Each report features a summary, chronology, and bibliography. Updated weekly.
- 650 Prompts for Narrative and Personal WritingIf you are looking for topic ideas, use this list to get you thinking. From the New York Times Learning Network.
- 401 Prompts for Argumentative WritingIf you are looking for topic ideas, use this list to get you thinking. From the New York Times Learning Network.
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
Featured Titles
Featured titles in your subject area:
MLA Made Easy by ISBN: 9781586834098Publication Date: 2009Offers an effective way to introduce proper research citing to those who are new to research and the MLA style. Full of examples and practical tips, it helps student researchers create accurate, complete citations in the MLA format. Includes a chapter on how to avoid plagiarism.
Quick Study: Essays & Term Papers by ISBN: 1423223306Publication Date: 2014A basic guide to research papers in infographic format. Checklists and bulleted lists!
Student Research and Report Writing by ISBN: 1118963946Publication Date: 2015An all-in-one guide for carrying out student research and writing a paper. Guides students along every step of the way. Shows students how to better manage their research projects. And write complete sentences ;)
