Medical Lab Technology: Journals & Article Databases
Databases
Search these collections to find articles related to allied-health topics.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals including nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, medicine, general health and more.
- Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowOffers researchers looking for answers to nursing or allied health questions millions of articles found in over 1,100 journals. Provides full-text coverage of many of the titles cited in CINAHL.
- Health and Medicine Resources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch EBSCOhost's Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, and others (including Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier) at the same time. Topics include consumer health information, nursing and allied health, pre-clinical sciences, aging, and more.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowCovers the international literature on biomedicine, including allied health. Citations available from 1965 - present; some full text.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online. View the Science Direct handout.
- Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 180 publications (many peer-reviewed) covering alternative and complementary medicine.
- MedicLatina This link opens in a new windowA Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. Full text for more than 130 peer-reviewed medical journals.
Video: What are Library Databases and Why do you Need Them?
Magazines, Academic Journals, and a Podcast
- Laboratory MedicineOnline access. Monthly magazine for laboratory professionals published by the American Society of Clinical Pathologists. Note that the most recent issues are not available.
- Annals of Clinical and Laboratory ScienceOnline access. Previous 2 years not available.
- American Journal of Clinical PathologyOnline access. Published by the American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP). Most recent year is not available.
- BloodOnline access. Most recent year not available.
- Medical Laboratory ObserverOnline access. Most recent 3 months not available.
- Inside the Lab PodcastA podcast from the folks at ASCP. Topics relevant to the laboratory professional!
Scholarly? Professional? Popular?
When you have a research assignment, be sure to figure out what types of article sources are required or allowed. Some professors require you to use only scholarly peer-reviewed journals while others might let you use a variety of journals.
Scholarly article: Also known as peer-reviewed, academic, or refereed, these articles are written for researchers and experts and usually share the results of a research study. Scholarly articles are written by experts in the field and are reviewed by expert peers. In many databases, you can limit your search to scholarly, peer-reviewed, or refereed journals to weed out any non-scholarly content. Scholarly article example
Professional/trade article: Written for people working in a specific field. Articles can be written by experts in the field or by staff writers. The articles are only reviewed by journal editors, so they go through a less rigorous review process. Trade article example
Popular journals: Written for a general audience rather than for professionals or scholars, and written by journalists. Examples include The New Yorker, People, and Rolling Stone. Popular article example