Communication Studies: Articles, books and more
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
Video: What are Library Databases and Why do you Need Them?
Video tutorial: Finding Articles Through PCC Library
Communication Studies Article Databases
-
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles relating to all aspects of communication and mass media.
-
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowOver 250 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR has full text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, as far back as 18xx up to 3-5 years ago. Note: It does not include current issues of the journals. All ARTstor image collections are now part of JSTOR, and can be searched using the "Images" tab then selecting "ARTstor collections".
Popular magazines from around the world
Overdrive, which provides access to popular ebooks and audiobooks through the Libby app, now includes magazines, including The New Yorker, Guardian Weekly, Smithsonian, Rolling Stone, and thousands more, in 20+ languages. There are no circulation limits, and you can set up an alert to be notified when the latest issue of your favorite magazine is available to read online or on a mobile device.
-
Overdrive magazinesBrowse titles by topic or popularity.
Magazine and Journal Articles
Go to Databases & articles for a complete list of PCC Library databases. Here are some recommended collections of published articles for COMM classes.
-
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
-
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowSearch from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile -
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles relating to all aspects of communication and mass media.
-
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new windowFind magazine and journal articles here. You can search all of the Gale databases at once or select just the ones you want.
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowA one-stop source for information on current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles on both sides of an issue, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full text magazine and newspaper articles. View the Opposing Viewpoints tutorial
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online. View "How to Use Science Direct" .
Featured print and ebooks
Recommended by the PCC Library staff.
-
The Art of Speeches and Presentations
by
Call Number: E-book, read onlineBe memorable. Whether you like it or loathe it, public speaking is something many of us have to do. The secret is content: too many of us focus on how we're presenting, and don't spend enough time thinking about what we're presenting. The secret to memorable, polished speeches is to think more about the material you're sharing - to pay attention to detail and choose your works carefully. Philip Collins provides you with a concise set of tools, preparing you for any speaking occasion. -
How to Present to Absolutely Anyone
by
Call Number: E-book, read onlineThis book covers performance anxiety, speaking skills, ideas/content, practice, preparation, and audience interaction. Packed with practical advice for both mental anguish and content creation, this book approaches public speaking holistically: Build confidence, reduce fear, and develop the right mindset for public speaking. -
Making Academic Presentations : what every university student needs to know
by
Call Number: CAS and SYL Libraries 808.851 L65m 2023Making Academic Presentations describes the five moves, or parts, of a typical presentation and provides examples of language that can be used to successfully accomplish these moves. Although language is vital to giving a good presentation, the book also addresses other factors that influence the success of the presentation, such as overcoming nervousness, nonverbal communication, and pronunciation and paralinquistics. -
Speaking scared, sounding good : public speaking for the private person
by
Call Number: Cascade and Southeast Libraries 808.51 D47s 2007"For millions, the idea of public speaking is terrifying -- actually ranking ahead of the fear of death. Speaking scared provides you with proven techniques that will enable you to make it through any speech, no matter how nervous you may be"--Back cover. -
Talk Like TED : the 9 public speaking secrets of the world's top minds
by
Call Number: Rock Creek and Southeast Libraries 658.452 G35t 2014Public speaking coach and bestselling author Gallo has broken down hundreds of TED talks and interviewed the most popular TED (technology, entertainment, design) presenters as well as the top researchers in the fields of psychology, communications, and neuroscience to get their cutting-edge insights and to reveal the nine secrets of all successful TED presentations. -
The young adult's guide to public speaking : tips, tricks & expert advice for delivering a great speech without being nervous.
Call Number: E-book, read onlineA perfectly delivered speech is something that takes time, practice, and knowledge. Discover how to overcome stage fright by being prepared, rehearsed, and ready for a number of unforeseen circumstances. Learn how to write a memorable speech and how to impact and persuade your audience. You’ll also learn how to gauge your audience’s reaction and tailor the remainder of your presentation to have maximum appeal to the group you are speaking to.
