RD 115 Information Literacy Project: Find Sources

Guide for students in Reading 115 who are completing an information literacy project

PCC Library Search

books

Research for college classes should come from from trustworthy sources.  One way to find reliable information is to use books and articles that have been screened for quality as part of the publication process. This page includes instructions and links to databases where you can find quality sources for your assignment.

Use the search box below to find books, videos, articles and more. Click on the tab on the left (PCC Library & Summit) to search for books and videos. Click on the Articles tab on the right to search for newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles available through the library.

Video: Find Articles through the PCC Library - The Basics

Note: parts of this video reflect the old PCC Library website and will be updated soon.

Reading a Search Results Page from a Library Database

Library databases are great places to find published articles, but the results pages can be confusing, so this video will give you some tips to help you find useful results.

Getting a book from the PCC Library

  • Enter a search in the PCC Library search box. 
  • If the book you want has a linked message starting with Available at..., and the book is available on your home campus, write down the location and call number.
  • If the book is available from another campus, click on the "Request item" button in the "Get It" section, (NOTE: You will need to login with your MyPCC username and password after clicking the blue "Sign in" button to see the "Request item" button), and specify the campus to which you'd like the book to be sent.
  • If the book is not available from PCC, you can order it from Summit using the "Request from another Summit library (about 5 days)" button (located in the "Get It" section); and if not available from Summit, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Screenshot of catalog entry for a specific book showing its location and call number beneath the title.

Getting a book we don't have through Summit

If we don't have a book, chances are we can get it for you!

When you find an item with a Check holdings message that means the book is not in our collection or is checked out. You may be able to request the book from a library in our region. If you don't see the "Request from another Summit library (about 5 days)" link button, you will need to log in with your MyPCC username and password after you click the blue "Sign in" button. 

Items requested through Summit can be delivered to any PCC Library at no cost for pick-up in 2-5 days. An email to your MyPCC account will notify you when your item is ready for pick up. PCC students and staff can visit any Summit library and borrow items directly with your PCC photo ID. Return your borrowed items to any PCC library.

A screenshot showing the location of the Summit request button under Get It in the catalog.

Video: What are Library Databases and Why do you Need Them?

Library Article Databases

Search these databases to find articles to help you answer your research question. You will find published newspaper, magazine, and academic (scholarly peer-reviewed) journal articles in these databases.

You can find over 100 additional databases in specific subject areas to search on the Databases A - Z page on the library website.

Advanced Google Searching

One of the best features of Google's Advanced Search is the ability to limit your search to the areas of the web where the information is most reliable, such as education sites or government sites.  The shortcut for this is to add site:edu or site:gov to your regular Google search. 

For example, if you conduct an ordinary Google search for nutritional supplements, most of your top results will be commercial (.com) sites trying to sell you vitamins.  If you search for nutritional supplements site:gov , the top results (except for the sponsored ads) will be sites such as the National Institute of Health and the Food and Drug Administration, which are authoritative, unbiased sources that are not trying to sell you anything.  If you search for nutritional supplements site:edu, your top results will be from universities providing research on nutritional supplements. 

Learn more about Advanced Google Searching from this self-paced tutorial: Google Search Tips. 

Best of Google!

Sure you know how to Google, but do you know about the other Googles out there?  These Google resources are a quick way to find trustworthy information on the free web.

Reliable news sources

Find current event information from news sources that practice fact-based journalism.  Some recommended sources: