Food and Nutrition: Articles, Databases, & News
Find Articles on Nutrition topics
Search these library databases to find articles on nutrition topics.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 180 publications (many peer-reviewed) covering alternative and complementary medicine.
- Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowIncludes 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as reference content. Coverage includes searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
- Health and Medicine Resources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch EBSCOhost's Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, and others (including Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier) at the same time. Topics include consumer health information, nursing and allied health, pre-clinical sciences, aging, and more.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowInformation on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
- BeverageDaily.comNews & Analysis for the Beverage Industry
- Food Business NewsNews, trends, and product development information from food manufacturers, food service, suppliers, and retail.
- New Food MagazineEurope-focused. Articles about food supply chains, nutrition, labeling, health, safety, sustainability, product development, and more.
- CoffeetalkNews and developments in the business of coffee.
More Coffee-focused publications here:
- worldteaNEWS"Business insight for the specialty tea trade."
More Tea-focused publications here:
- Dairy Foods Magazine (and website)(Requires free registration to access full-text of articles.) The website also has a huge amount of news and other information about all things dairy.
Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals
- American Journal of Clinical NutritionPublishes the latest research on topics in nutrition, such as obesity, vitamins and minerals, nutrition and disease, and energy metabolism.
- American Journal of Public Health (AJPH)AJPH is dedicated to publication of original work in research, research methods, and program evaluation in the field of public health. The mission of the Journal is to advance public health research, policy, practice, and education.
- GastronomicaWith its diverse voices, cross-disciplinary mix of articles, and cross-cultural orientation, Gastronomica takes food as a starting point to probe timely and necessary questions about the role of food in everyday life.
**Some articles may require Interlibrary Loan to access full text.
- Journal of NutritionPublishes peer-reviewed original research papers covering all aspects of experimental nutrition in humans and other animal species; special articles such as reviews and biographies of prominent nutrition scientists; and issues, opinions, and commentaries on controversial issues in nutrition.
- Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (JAND)The Journal focuses on advancing professional knowledge across the range of research and practice issues such as: nutritional science, medical nutrition therapy, public health nutrition, food science and biotechnology, foodservice systems, leadership and management, and dietetics education.
- naturefoodFrom the internationally well-known journal Nature - comes the journal "naturefood". Research, reviews, and comments on aspects of food production, processing, distribution and consumption that impact human & planetary health.
- NutritionPresents advances in nutrition research and science, informs its readers on new and advancing technologies and new data in clinical nutrition practice, encourages the application of the techniques of outcomes research and meta-analyses to problems in patient-related nutrition; and seeks to help clarify and set the research, policy and practice agenda for nutrition science to enhance human well-being in the years ahead.
- Nutrition ResearchPublishes research articles, communications, and reviews on all aspects of basic and applied nutrition. The mission of Nutrition Research is to serve as the journal for global communication of nutrition and life sciences research on diet and health. The field of nutritional sciences includes, but is not limited to, the study of nutrients during growth, reproduction, aging, and disease.
- Nutrition ReviewsNutrition Reviews specializes in the publication of authoritative and critical literature reviews on current and emerging topics in nutrition science, food science, clinical nutrition, and nutrition policy.
- World NutritionThe journal of the World Public Health Nutrition Association.
- Better NutritionCovers diet, exercise, and vitamin supplement information for consumers from practical as well as medicinal perspectives. Focuses on natural methods for achieving optimal health and enhanced longevity.
- Environmental NutritionAn independent (no sponsors, no advertisements) consumer newsletter offering practical guidance on food and nutrition. Covers a wide range of food and nutrition topics, including food safety, nutritional supplements, and recent research findings. Includes nutrition comparison charts that identify best buys for shoppers among brand-name foods.