Food and Nutrition: Books & Videos
Find Books, e-Books, Videos
The following links will take you to books, videos and other library materials on that topic in the PCC Library:
Nutrition Encyclopedias
- Access Science This link opens in a new windowAn online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. It contains nearly 9,000 online encyclopedia articles, terms, images and videos related to sciences and technology. The Study Center provides essay topics, study guides and bibliographies.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food LabelsThis guide provides a unique source of information on food, nutrition, food labels, and associated legislation, organizations, and diseases and conditions. Coverage includes various topics related to nutrition and food labels.
The Oxford Book of Health FoodsThe Oxford Book of Health Foods provides a scientific critique of the evidence for the medical and health claims made for a wide range of products sold for their health benefits. The book begins with an account of modern concepts of human nutrition, followed by a series of over one hundred accounts of individual health foods and dietary supplements. In all cases the importance of these products in human health is explained, and, for herbal medicines, the evidence for their claimed therapeutic value is given, and toxic effects are described.
The Gale Encyclopedia of DietsCovers topics such as dieting and popular diets, dietary concerns, nutritional basics, and the effects of a person's dietary choices on one's health. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influence the trend, and any public or regulatory concerns associated with the practice.
Atlas of FoodBy providing an up-to-date and visually appealing understanding of important issues around global food and agriculture, The Atlas of Food maps out broad areas of investigation--contamination of food and water, overnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, processing, farming, and trade--to offer a concise overview of today's food and farming concerns.
Cambridge World History of FoodRanging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements.
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food SystemsHundreds of comprehensive articles on everything from A ("Advances in Animal Biotechnology" to Z ("Zoonotic Helminths of Livestock"). Includes extensive bibliographies.
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
Featured Books
Food and Nutrition: What Everyone Needs to Know by Publication Date: 2018
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat by Publication Date: 2017
Fixing the Food System by Publication Date: 2016
What's So Controversial about Genetically Modified Food? by Publication Date: 2016
Prison Food in America by Publication Date: 2016
Videos on Food/Nutrition (DVD, or streaming for $ on Netflix, etc.)
- Fast Food NationExamining the health issues and social consequences of America's love affair with fast food. Based on the book of the same name by Eric Schlosser.
- Forks Over KnivesThis film examines the claim that most if not all degenerative diseases that afflict us can be controlled, or even reversed, by rejecting animal-based and processed foods. It traces the personal journeys of a pair of pioneering researchers, Dr. T. Colin Campbell and Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn.
- Food, Inc.Explores the U.S. commercial food industry, examining corporate control of supply and market. The film seeks to demonstrate how the incentive for corporate profit can overwhelm consumer health needs, as well as the livelihood of the American farmer, the safety of workers and the environment. Reveals various details of food ingredients and additives, and how contemporary mass production methods of food affects U.S. culture.
- Food ChoicesThis is a different kind of movie about food. Unlike several other documentaries of the genre that often focus on singular aspects and issues related to food, this feature length film takes a broader look and explores the impact that our food choices have not only on our own health, but also on the health of our planet as well as on the lives of other living species on earth and shows how everything is intrinsically interconnected.
- King CornFueled by curiosity and a dash of naiveté, college buddies Ian Cheney and Curt Ellis return to their ancestral home of Greene, Iowa, to find out how the modest corn kernel conquered America. With the help of real farmers, powerful fertilizer, government aid, and genetically modified seeds, the friends manage to grow one acre of corn. Along the way, they unlock the hidden truths about America's modern food system.
- The End of MeatA feature documentary that explores the idea of a post-meat world. It includes interviews with philosophers, scientists, artists and activists who offer their insight and progressive ideas about the role of animals in society.