History - African American: Getting Started
Migration series by Jacob Lawrence
Welcome to the Research Guide on African American History. Here you will find books, articles, videos, links to archival materials, and more. Browse to get some ideas for further research and feel free to reach out if you need help finding what you need.
Click on these search terms to find related books, videos, and audio in our library collection. If you are looking for articles, try some of these search terms in the article databases.
African Americans 17th century
African Americans 18th century
African Americans 19th century
African Americans 20th century
civil rights African Americans
integration school United States
migrations African Americans history
race relations African Americans
Reconstruction (US history, 1865-1877)
sources African American (primary sources)
- Encyclopedia of African American History byISBN: 9781851097746Publication Date: 2010-02-09
- We the People: The Civil Rights Revolution byISBN: 067441649XPublication Date: 2014-03-03
- Lighting the Fires of Freedom byISBN: 9781620973356Publication Date: 2018-05-08
- Annotated African American Folktales byISBN: 9780871407535Publication Date: 2017-11-14
- Black Fortunes byISBN: 9780062437594Publication Date: 2018-01-30
- Bayard Rustin: American Dreamer byISBN: 9780742564800Publication Date: 2009-01-01
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowSearch from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile
- Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, from their earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. Does not include current issues of the journals. Video tutorials are available.
- U.S. History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowThis collection of over 40 journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought and events in U.S. History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher.
- U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowA collection of full text periodicals, reference works, and primary sources as well as scholarly analyses. Images, videos, and audio recordings bring additional perspectives to United States history from pre-colonial times to the present.