Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Philosopher's Magazine
The Philosopher's Magazine is devoted to publishing philosophy that’s clear, enlightening, thought-provoking and even entertaining. TPM is for anyone who wants a philosophical perspective on the world and our place in it, who appreciates depth, clarity, and good writing. The contributors are professional philosophers, many of international standing, who take care to make themselves easily understood. Check out the philosophy games page.
Web access: Click View It to use the web interface through the library catalog.
iPad: Download The Philosopher's Magazine app from the Apple Store when you are on campus.
Android: Download the Exactly app from the Google Play Store when you are on campus. Click past the login screen.
Magazine and journal article databases
Search by keywords for published philosophy articles from these databases:
Academic Search Premier
Full text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL)
GVRL has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources including encyclopedias of philosophy.
Full text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, from their earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. Does not include current issues of the journals. Video tutorials are available.
Full-text of newspapers, wire services, and magazines from around the world.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (Ebscohost)
Full text coverage of topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Browse these philosophy magazines and journals electronically.
Peer reviewed articles on the ethical questions raised by current biomedical research and issues. Questions are considered on the basis of concrete ethical, legal, and policy problems, and in terms of fundamental concepts, principles and theories.
Journal of Applied Philosophy
Covers moral, social, and political philosophy and ethics applied to problems of practical concern. Covers a broad spectrum of issues in environment and medicine, science policy, law and education.
Journal of Political Philosophy
Peer reviewed interdisciplinary approach to the study of theoretical issues which arise out of moral, legal and political life. Some of the disciplines covered include philosophy, sociology, history, economics, and political science.
Philosophy East & West
Promoting academic literacy on non-Western traditions of philosophy, Philosophy East and West has for over half a century published the highest-quality scholarship that locates these cultures in their relationship to Anglo-American philosophy.
An engaging magazine out of Great Britain about all sorts of philosophical and ethical issues. Features include articles, ethics in society, fiction, reviews and cartoons.
Philosophy of Science
Essays, discussion articles and book reviews in the general area of philosophy of science for members of the Philosophy of Science Association.