Sign Language Interpreting: Find Books, Articles & Videos
Guide to research in sign language, deaf culture, and interpretation.
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
The following links will take you to books, videos and other library materials on that topic in the library catalog:
Selected Books Available from the PCC Library
- Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID)RID "represents the professionals who facilitate communication between people who are deaf or hard of hearing and people who can hear."
- Standard Practice PapersThese papers, from the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf "articulate the consensus of the membership in outlining standard practices and positions on various interpreting roles and issues."
Search the following database to find articles related to your research topic.
- Index to Deaf PeriodicalsSearch Gallaudet's Index to selected deaf studies publications.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowA highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, designed for professional educators.
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying at the collegiate and graduate level.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, from their earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. Does not include current issues of the journals. Video tutorials are available.
You can find DVDs and streaming videos by searching the library catalog for a specific topic and clicking on the DVD Video and/or eAudio and Video limiters on the left-hand side of the page. The links below go to our two largest streaming video providers.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowView streaming videos licensed by the library. While there is no specific collection for ASL and interpreting, there are several streaming videos on learning sign language and deaf culture that can be found by doing searches for sign language or deaf.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowOver 64,000 scholarly videos in multiple subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film & cinema, health, music and dance, news and current affairs, science, and much more. Programs include documentaries, interviews, performances, news, raw footage, and archival materials. Note: Some video content in Alexander Street Video, such as Sony Classic Pictures content, is protected by DRM (Digital Rights Management) technology. Due to this DRM requirement, certain videos will not play on Apple devices or the Safari browser as they lack the technology required to play protected video.