Rise to Teach: Recommended library databases
This guide is to help students in PCC's Rise to Teach program to explore and discover information related to K-12 education.
PCC Library databases for education information
- ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center from the U.S. Dept. of Education, lists journal articles and educational documents (lesson plans, studies, etc.). 1966 - present.
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowA highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, designed for professional educators.
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying at the collegiate and graduate level.
- Psychology Resources This link opens in a new windowSearch EBSCOhost's Psychology Collection, Academic Search Premier, and MasterFile Premier at the same time. Topics in the Psychology Collection include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Many articles are relevant to education.
- Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowSearch a subset of Gale with a focus on basic understandings of the study of the mind, emotions, and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Many articles are relevant to education.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThousands of high-resolution streaming videos organized by subject. For academic research as well as general interest, this collection includes archival and newsreel films as well as career and technical videos.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowOver 64,000 scholarly videos in multiple subject areas including education, anthropology, business, counseling, film & cinema, health, music and dance, news and current affairs, science, and much more. Programs include documentaries, interviews, performances, news, raw footage, and archival materials. Note: Some video content in Alexander Street Video, such as Sony Classic Pictures content, is protected by DRM (Digital Rights Management) technology. Due to this DRM requirement, certain videos will not play on Apple devices or the Safari browser as they lack the technology required to play protected video.
- Swank Feature Films Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of feature films being taught by PCC faculty in film courses. Not education-related, but maybe you'll find a film you want to watch!
Finding Article Through the PCC Library
Other databases with published articles relevant to education
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowSearch from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile
- Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press. Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Also a good source of ethnic recipes. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. View the Ethnic NewsWatch handout
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFocusing on how gender impacts diverse subject areas, resources include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, as well as NGO and government publications. Archival material from as early as 1970 provides a historical perspective on the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and changes in gender roles. View the GenderWatch handout
- Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.
Skill building and practice tests
- Learning Express Library This link opens in a new windowInteractive practice tests and tutorials to help you succeed on academic or licensing tests. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Set up an account so that you can keep track of your practice tests. This account is separate from MyPCC. You must sign in before taking a test.
Includes practice tests for the Reading, Math and Writing portions of the CBEST test
- NorthStar Digital LiteracyNorthstar Digital Literacy provides self-paced assessments and learning modules to develop digital literacy skills including computer basics, internet, Windows 10, Word, Excel, career search skills, and more. Create an account to track your progress.
For additional information, see the Northstar Digital Literacy Research Guide,
The Library search box is your starting point to find books, ebooks, DVDs, and other materials.