GEO 206 Geography of Oregon: Find Books & Articles
Find Articles
Search these databases to find articles on topics on topics related to geography. Some of the databases below only contain scholarly research studies; others will contain a mix of scholarly, magazine, and newspaper articles; and others only have newspaper articles. Here are some of the benefits of scholarly articles. Each type of article is useful and beneficial and a good research paper will utilize a diverse array of sources.
Scholarly articles--
- Report on the results of research studies
- Are written by experts in the field
- Are reviewed by experts to ensure the quality of the research
- Tend to carry more weight with audiences because they are seen as being more credible and authoritative
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, from their earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. Does not include current issues of the journals. Video tutorials are available.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. You will need to add PCC as your library in your Google Scholar preferences to get links to PCC Library resources.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMajor multidisciplinary database that contains scholarly articles, professional articles, and popular magazine and newspaper articles.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
Find Articles with Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.