GEO 206 Geography of Oregon: Get Started
In this Guide
|
This guide is designed to help students do research on geographic issues in Oregon. Use the tabs above to navigate through the other pages of the guide:
|
|
Doing Research? Try the Geography Research Tutorial
This interactive tutorial will help you find quality sources for Geography research assignments using Library databases and Google Scholar.
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
Find Articles
Search these databases to find articles on topics on topics related to geography. Some of the databases below only contain scholarly research studies; others will contain a mix of scholarly, magazine, and newspaper articles; and others only have newspaper articles. Here are some of the benefits of scholarly articles. Each type of article is useful and beneficial and a good research paper will utilize a diverse array of sources.
Scholarly articles--
- Report on the results of research studies
- Are written by experts in the field
- Are reviewed by experts to ensure the quality of the research
- Tend to carry more weight with audiences because they are seen as being more credible and authoritative
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR has full text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, as far back as 18xx up to 3-5 years ago. Note: It does not include current issues of the journals. All ARTstor image collections are now part of JSTOR, and can be searched using the "Images" tab then selecting "ARTstor collections".
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. You will need to add PCC as your library in your Google Scholar preferences to get links to PCC Library resources.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMajor multidisciplinary database that contains scholarly articles, professional articles, and popular magazine and newspaper articles.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
Your Librarian
Chat with a Librarian
Need help from a librarian? Use our chat system. Click the button to open the chat window.