Environmental Studies: Find Articles
Searching library databases
This six minute video tutorial shows you the fastest way to find articles from PCC Library databases, using the EBSCOHost databases from the Articles tab.
For more tips on selecting effective search terms, watch this three minute video: Brainstorming keywords
Get tips for reading and understanding peer reviewed research articles: How to Read a Scientific Article.
If you don't find full-text
If the article you have found in a library database doesn't have the full text right there, click on the "Find It" button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. The "Find It" button will look like this. 
If we do have it, it will take you to a page that provides you a link to the database in which the article is available (click on that link to access the article).
If we do not have it, you will see a "Get it" button to request a digital copy (PDF) of the article, which takes approximately 24 hours. The digital copy will be delivered to you via email.
Environment Journals
The following list includes scholarly and trade journals about environmental studies. Click on the "View It" link for full text access to journal articles.
- Environmental Building NewsFind issues through the Building Green database
Find Articles with Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
Find Articles in Library Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- Access Science This link opens in a new windowAn online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. It contains nearly 9,000 online encyclopedia articles, terms, images and videos related to sciences and technology. The Study Center provides essay topics, study guides and bibliographies.
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowAGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new windowA full text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. View the Alt-Press Watch handout.
- Biological Science Database This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from 280 biology journals, many of them peer-reviewed.
- Building Green This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowTopical, full text reports on controversial issues. Each report features a summary, chronology, and bibliography. Updated weekly.
- Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA collection of more than 100 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture, with the addition of over 20 subject specific reference sources, this collection provides information for gardening enthusiasts and professionals alike.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowScholarly, government and general-interest content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowVideos, interactive maps, news sources, refereed case studies, and primary source articles are included. Browseable by issue or topic as well as by location.
- Home Improvement (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowThis collection of more than 200 home-improvement focused titles covers such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more will meet the needs of hobbyists and professionals alike.
- Oregon Career Information System This link opens in a new windowProvides a system of occupational and educational information to help Oregonians learn about the world of work and education.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowA one-stop source for information on current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles on both sides of an issue, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full text magazine and newspaper articles. View the Opposing Viewpoints handout [pdf]
- SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new windowFull text information on social issues, science, health, history, government, business, and the arts and humanities. Citations include Lexile reading levels. View the SIRS Knowledge Source handout [pdf].
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online. View the Science Direct handout.
- Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage for more than 300 trade and industry-related periodicals including Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.
- Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowProviding content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.