Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How do I do stuff with the library and its website?
- I need help with a research assignment.
- I need help choosing a topic.
- Where should I look for information sources on my topic?
- What are good sources?
- I need peer reviewed articles.
- Is there a research guide for my class or topic?
- I need help finding books & videos.
- I need the textbook on reserve for my class.
- I need to find a book or video.
- I need to borrow a book or video the library doesn’t have.
- I want a book to read for fun.
- I want to ask the library to buy a book or video.
- I need an article.
- I need help with citations.
- I’m not sure when to cite.
- I need to know how to cite a specific thing (book/article/video)
- I need a tool to help me make citations and bibliographies.
- I need tips for staying organized
- This doesn’t meet my need.
- I need help finding a specific thing.
- I need help evaluating sources.
- I need help finding a service or person in the library.
- I need help with computers, printing, or logins
How to Tutorials, Videos, and Handouts
Searching & source help
- Introduction to the Library Website (Video, 4:57): This 4:57 video provides an overview of the library website and highlights some of the Library’s most popular resources and services.
- Finding Articles Through the PCC Library (Video, 4:17): This 4:17 video reviews how to find articles using the PCC Library article search and introduces Boolean operators (AND & OR) as well as the use of quotation marks.
- Choosing a Topic (Video, 3:22): This 3:22 video contains helpful suggestions about how to come up with an idea for a research topic.
- Turning an Interest into a Research Question (Video, 5:11): In this 5:11 video, you’ll learn how to turn something you find interesting into a researchable question for a college research project.
- Evaluating Sources: How PCC Students Do It (Video, 7:39): In this 7:39 video, three Portland Community College students talk about how they consider, evaluate and use sources for their own research assignments.
- Reading a Search Results Page from a Library Database (Video, 5:11): Library databases are great places to find published articles, but the results pages can be confusing. This 5:11 video will give you some tips to help you find useful results.
- Know Your Sources (Infographic): When doing research you will come across a lot of information from different types of sources. How do you decide which source to use? From tweets to newspaper articles, this infographic tool provides a brief description of each and breaks down 6 factors of what to consider when selecting a source.
- Evaluating Sources to Find Quality Research (Video, 5:27): This 5:27 video discusses three questions you should ask in of any source you find in your research.
- Evaluating Sources on the Web (Video, 4:30): On the web, it can be difficult to tell what type of source you’re looking at and whether or not it’s something that would provide quality evidence for your assignment. This 4:30 video will help you look more critically at your own search results.
- Skepticism in the Era of Fake News and Circular Reporting (Video, 3:39): This 3:39 video describes how poor journalistic practices can perpetuate misinformation and highlights the importance of skepticism and verifying information by finding the original source.
- Whatapedia? (Video, 3:49): This 3:49 YouTube video explains how best to use Wikipedia, Encyclopedias, and other reference materials available both online and through the library to provide background and overview information on a research topic.
- How to Use PCC Library Search (PDF): this PDF tutorial explains how to search for and get books, videos, course reserves, ebooks and streaming videos through the PCC Library search box on the PCC Library homepage.
- MLA 8 Reference Guide (PDF): This reference guide will help you navigation citation if you are an instructor or student who is using the changes to citation and references outlined in the Modern Language Association’s 8th edition (MLA 8).
- APA Citation Samples (PDF): This guide provides samples of the citation style from the American Psychological Association (APA).
- CSE Citation Samples (PDF): This is a guide to citation styles from the CSE (Council of Science Editors).
- Credo Reference (PDF): This PDF tutorial explains how to use Credo Reference, which provides online versions of 500 published reference works, including general and specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias. It is a great place to begin your research, get some facts about your topic, then jump to another Library database to find published journal or magazine articles.
- EBSCOhost (PDF): This PDF tutorial explains how to find published newspaper, magazine and scholarly journal articles on a range of topics in EBSCOhost databases.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (PDF): This PDF tutorial explains how to use Gale Virtual Reference Library, which helps you get the background information you need to do a well-informed research project. It offers students, researchers, and professionals a wide variety of full-text interdisciplinary content on virtually any subject area to tackle their assignments, papers, projects, and presentations.
- Google Scholar (PDF): This PDF tutorial explains how: to set preferences to get full-text access while using Google Scholar; save articles to your Google account; obtain full-text articles through the PCC library through Google Scholar; and what to do if you are unable to get full text of an article through Google Scholar.
- Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, & GenderWatch (PDF): This PDF tutorial explains how to use the following three databases: Alt-Press Watch (full-text articles from alternative and independent presses); Ethnic NewsWatch (articles from ethnic and minority presses); and GenderWatch (focus in the impact of gender in many subject areas).
- JSTOR (PDF): This PDF tutorial explains how to use JSTOR, a large collection of scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles strongest in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
- Opposing Viewpoints (PDF): This PDF tutorial explains how to use Opposing Viewpoints, which provides opinion essays on current issues, news and magazine articles, court case overviews, and more.
- PsycINFO (PDF): This PDF tutorial explains how to use the PsycINFO database, which has peer-reviewed articles from scholarly journals, book chapters, and dissertations in psychology, behavioral science and mental health.
- Science Direct (PDF): This PDF tutorial explains how to use Science Direct, which provides full text articles for peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more.
- SIRS Issues Researcher (PDF): This PDF tutorial explains how to use SIRS Issues Researcher, which is updated daily to provide information on current social issues,economics, business, politics, global issues, scientific developments, health, history, government, culture, the arts and humanities.