- Library
- Research Guides
- Senate Bill 13: Tribal History/Shared History
- Resources for Research
Senate Bill 13: Tribal History/Shared History: Resources for Research
Passed in 2017, SB 13 requires the Oregon Department of Education to develop statewide curricula relating to Native American tribal history, tribal sovereignty, culture, treaty rights, government, socioeconomic experiences, and current events in Oregon.
Research
- The Native American Community in Multnomah Country: An Unsettling ProfileExecutive Summary
Today, the Native American community in Multnomah county exists as a testament to resilience and resistance. We are a community that has endured much hardship, and we are determined to build a positive future for all our members. We are the 9th largest urban Indian population in the USA. We are home to 28 Native organizations in the Portland area, run by and staffed with Native people, whose combined resources represent over 50 million dollars in revenue that go to local taxes, businesses and services.2 The legacy of pride and resilience has resulted in the development of a powerful core of advocates in the
region. This grit and determination has, ultimately, led to the emergence of a robust and vital Native American presence in Multnomah county - Indigenous Languages: OregonWelcome to the Oregon State Facts section, part of an educational project designed to provide information about indigenous people in different U.S. states. Follow the links to the right of our tribal map for more information about the language, culture and history of each Oregon tribe, or scroll below the map for Oregon Indian activities including a wordsearch, fact sheets, and words from the Native American languages of Oregon. Feel free to print any of these materials out for classroom use!
Library databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, from their earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. Does not include current issues of the journals. Video tutorials are available.
- Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press. Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Also a good source of ethnic recipes. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. View the Ethnic NewsWatch handout
Looking for ebooks?
The PCC Library provides access to many ebooks. To find ebooks in the library:
-
Enter a search in the main search box on the library homepage.
-
On the results page, on the left-hand side of the page, find the Format section and check the eBooks box.
-
Click the Apply Filters button.
-
To access an ebook, click the Online Access link under the title information.
Books at PCC and available from other libraries
The People Are Dancing Again by ISBN: 9780295990668Publication Date: 2010An extensively researched history of the Siletz tribe that includes oral tradition and personal interviews.
A Guide to the Indian Tribes of the Pacific Northwest by ISBN: 9780806140247Publication Date: 2010Includes recent economic, political, and cultural developments that affect the native communities, as well as other contemporary issues such as Indian gaming and the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act. All entries include information on tribal history, location, demographics, and cultural traditions
In Defense of Wyam by ISBN: 9780295743578Publication Date: 2018Having secured access to hundreds of previously unknown and unexamined letters, author Katrine Barber presents a remarkable alliance across the opposed Native and settler-descended groups, chronicling how the lives of two women leaders converged in a shared struggle to protect the Indian homes of Celilo Village.
Wiyáxayxt / Wiyáakaa'Awn / As Days Go By by ISBN: 9780295986234Publication Date: 2006Recollections of the members of the confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Reservation.
Ethnobotany of the Coos, Lower Umpqua, and Siuslaw Indians by ISBN: 9780870718526Publication Date: 2016Documents the use of plants by these closely-related coastal tribes, covering a geographical area that extends roughly from Cape Perpetua on the central coast, south to the Coquille River, and from the Coast Range west to the Pacific shore. With a focus on native plants and their traditional uses, it also includes mention of farming crops, as well as the highly invasive Himalayan blackberry, which some Oregon coast Indians called the 'white man's berry.'
Oregon Indians by ISBN: 9780875951096Publication Date: 2000Information concerning Oregon Indian tribes, notably: Cathlamet, (Chinook), Siletz, Yaquina, Alsea, Sitslaw, Coos, Coquille, Umpqua, Clatsop, Cooniac, Clatskanie, Multnomah, Cascades, Clackamas, Wasco, Wyam, Tenico, John Day, Tygh, Umatilla, Cayuse, Nez Perce, Klamath, Modoc, Shasta, Creek, Latgawa, Tolowa, Chetco, Kwatami, Tututni.
The KalapuyansISBN: 9780975348406Publication Date: 2004Contains the records of the Kalapuya culture, Willamette Valley artifacts, records of the Champoeg meeting and the treaties of 1851.
Getting a book from the PCC Library
- Enter a search in the PCC Library search box.
- If the book you want has a linked message starting with Available at..., and the book is available on your home campus, write down the location and call number.
- If the book is available from another campus, click on the "Request" button in the "Get It" section, (NOTE: You will need to login with your MyPCC username and password after clicking the blue "Sign in" button to see the "Request" button), and specify the campus to which you'd like the book to be sent.
- If the book is not available from PCC, you can order it using the "Get it" buttons to request a physical copy or digital chapters from the book (located in the "Get it from other locations" section). Learn more about requesting library materials.
