Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources and Digital Archives
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
Extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures. From the University of Washington
Cherokee Removal and the Trail of Tears
Resources from the Digital Public Library of America
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
Contains U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. From Oklahoma State University.
Indians/Native Americans - National Archives
Provides links to American history relating to Native Americans
Indigenous Narratives on Climate Change: Interviews
Includes interviews with Winona LaDuke and Robin Wall Kimmerer. Part of a student project at the Institute of American Indian Arts.
Native American and Indigenous History and Culture - Smithsonian
Digitized collections from the Smithsonian National Anthropological Archives and National Museum of the American Indian
Native American Documents Project
Includes the narrative reports of the commissioner of Indian affairs for 1871, 1872, 1874, 1875, and 1876, and a map of western reservations published with the 1875 report. From Cal State, San Marcos
Resources Related to American Indian and Alaska Native Communities at the National Archives
Historical documents and other materials from the 18th through 21st century. From DocTeach, a tool to introduce research in primary sources at the National Archives.
Southern Oregon Digital Archives, First Nations Collection
Includes documents, books, and articles relating to the indigenous peoples of southwestern Oregon and northern California, including the Coos, Hupa, Karuk, Klamath, Modoc, Takelma, Shasta, Siuslaw, Cow Creek Band of Umpqua, Yahooskin, and Yurok nations. From Southern Oregon University
Museums and cultural centers
Indigenous History of Oregon
Research guide from Pacific University Library on the history of the Native peoples of Oregon, including timeline, languages and boarding schools.
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Established in 1824, Indian Affairs currently provides services (directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts) to approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives
Center for World Indigenous Studies
A global community of activist scholars advancing the rights of indigenous peoples through the application of traditional knowledge
Indian Country Today
Digital indigenous news.
American Indian ancestry resources; a directory of tribes; indigenous people's literature; and other resources
Oregon Directory of American Indian Resources 2015 - 2017
A biennial publication with documents pertinent to the federally recognized Oregon Tribes and to the Legislative Commission on Indian Services, and current contact information for Commission members, tribal governments, and state agencies.
Oregon Indian Tribes
From Access Genealogy, provides information on the tribes that at one time are recorded in history as having resided within the present state of Oregon
Oregon Native American Chamber
Dedicated to working with all members of the community to advance the educational and economic opportunities for Native Americans in Oregon and Southwest Washington.
Tribal Climate Change Project
A collaborative project at the University of Oregon with support from the USDA Forest Service Pacific Northwest Research Station, the Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians, the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the North Pacific Landscape Conservation Cooperative.
Federally Recognized Tribes of Oregon
Oregon has nine federally recognized tribes: