Culturally Responsive Teaching Resources
- Home
- What Is Culturally Responsive Teaching?
- Researching Culturally Responsive Teaching
- PCC Campus Resources
Video: How to search for books at PCC Library
Learn how to use Portland Community College Library's search to find books and other items at PCC Library.
Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
Researching Culturally Responsive Teaching: Using Relevant Search Terms
Here's a sampling of search terms that can be used to find information on culturally responsive teaching and curriculum in the community college. Use these terms to search the PCC Library catalog, Google Scholar, or article databases.
| Try one of these search terms: | Combined with one or more of these search terms: |
|---|---|
| higher education community college postsecondary education classroom environment teaching methods |
culturally responsive teaching culturally relevant education student centered learning inclusion social integration student diversity social justice gender bias race discrimination |
When looking for resources specific to your discipline, add those terms to your search as well. For example:
science OR biology AND student centered learning
writing AND teaching methods AND race
Recommended Article Databases
Try using these article databases to find relevant information:
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowSearch from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile - Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying at the collegiate and graduate level.
- ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center from the U.S. Dept. of Education, lists journal articles and educational documents (lesson plans, studies, etc.). 1966 - present.
- Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press. Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Also a good source of ethnic recipes. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. View the Ethnic NewsWatch handout
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFocusing on how gender impacts diverse subject areas, resources include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, as well as NGO and government publications. Archival material from as early as 1970 provides a historical perspective on the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and changes in gender roles. View the GenderWatch handout
- Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowA highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, designed for professional educators.
- Last Updated: Jun 17, 2024 11:04 AM
- URL: https://guides.pcc.edu/culturally_responsive_teaching
- Print Page