WR 122 Schumacher: Citations (MLA and APA)
Citing Your Sources
Why cite your sources?
When you use someone else's words, ideas, or images in your writing, you need to give them proper credit. Providing a citation or reference enables others to locate these sources, too! This link provides an example of what an MLA-style Works Cited page looks like: Sample Works Cited page.
Resources for creating MLA-style citations:
Resources for creating APA-style citations:
Free citation creation tools to help you generate MLA-style citations:
- NCSU Citation Builder - walks you through the process of creating citations for a variety of print and online sources. Covers MLA 7 and 8, and APA 6. Once your citation is created by filling out the forms provided, you can cut and paste your generated citation into your bibliography.
- Calvin College's Knight Cite - a citation creator that covers MLA 8 and APA 6. It also provides forms to help you make citations for a wide range of resources in print, online, and in multimedia and communication. Allows you to create a free Knight Cite account so you can save citations for later and export them to Word or an RTF document.
Need help with hanging indentation?
- Here is a link to a short video tutorial for hanging indentation formatting in Word.
- Here is a link to a short video tutorial for hanging indentation formatting in Google Drive/Docs
Here are some more tools to help you create MLA, APA and other style citations to cite your sources.
Generate citations at the click of a button
The library catalog and some library databases have built-in citation generators, which allow you to simply click on a "Cite" button to get the citation for that article or book in various formats. You can usually find this useful feature, if it is available, on the page for the specific article or book. Always double-check the citations from citation generators, as these automated tools are known to occasionally produce errors (for example, formatting the author's name or title in all capital letters).
In the EBSCO databases, the "Cite" tool is located in the "Tools" menu, to the right of a full article record:
In our Library Catalog, the "citation" tool is located in the "Send to" area below the title, author, and location information in a full item record:
Citation buttons are also available in ProQuest databases, SIRS, CQ Researcher, Google Scholar, and most Gale Databases. If you're not sure how to find the citation, ask a librarian.