Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Books, Articles, DVDs, and more
Reliable News Sources
Here are some recommendations for finding current event information from news sources that practice fact-based journalism, and how to spot "fake news".
Know Your Sources
When selecting sources for your research, it's important to understand what you're looking at. The Know Your Sources infographic will help give you an idea of who created a given source,what went into the creation it, and why it may (or may not) be useful for your specific research.
Finding Articles in Databases
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, from their earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. Does not include current issues of the journals.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Answers environmentally-related inquiries with coverage of more than 3.3 million articles from more than 700 journals and reference content from Delmar, Cengage Learning. Robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Useful for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 250 journals.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press. Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Also a good source of ethnic recipes. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, government and general-interest content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.