Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using peer-reviewed articles
This guide will help you find peer-reviewed articles, but often reading them is even more challenging!
has a simple guide to reading a scientific paper, a/k/a a journal article.
Jennifer Raff, of Violent Metaphors
offers a much more detailed look at reading research articles, with attention to each section. At the end of the post linked here, she links to a very detailed, step-by-step reading of a research article.
Research Articles and Review Articles
This assignment requires you to find and read two kinds of peer-reviewed articles: research articles, which communicate the findings of research the authors have carried out, and review articles, which gather the findings of many research projects and articles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
To find a review article in Science Direct, use the Advanced search feature. Remember, review articles serve as a round-up of important research articles, and help define the current state of knowledge about a topic.
Find Articles with Google Scholar
Before searching, be sure to set PCC as your library in your browser by:
- Visiting the link to set "Library Links" settings for Google Scholar,
- using the search box to search for "Portland Community College",
- checking the check box that appears underneath the search to select “Portland Community College – Find it @ PCC”,
- and then selecting the Save button.
This will ensure that when you search Google Scholar in your browser, you will see Find It @ PCC links to full text if we have the article (Google Scholar sometimes also provides links to other free sources for full text).
You can learn more about setting Google Scholar preferences on the PCC Library Website.
Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar
for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
CSE (Council of Science Editors) citation style
MyBib citation maker
Free citation maker -- you'll need to set the style to Council of Science Editors, Name-Year. Fill out the form and this site will create citations.
North Carolina State University provides a citation builder for CSE name-year citations. Just select your source type and CSE/CBE, fill out the form!
CSE Quick Guide
Sample references and in-text citations from the Council of Science Editors -- make sure you're using the Name-Year tab.
Guide to CSE Name-Year citation style
The University of Wisconsin-Madison's Writing Center provides a clear, simple guide to CSE style.
CSE Documentation -- Name-Year Method
Another guide from Austin Community College that includes an example of a completed CSE bibliography at the end.