BA 150, 250 & 278 - Sickert: Company & Industry Info
Resources for entrepreneurship
Research Tips
- Company's website: mission, vision, values (as available), 10-K/Annual Report, media/news/press releases.
- Not all companies have a "mission/vision/value statement" per se, but you can get a general idea from their website or annual report/10-K (if public) about what they do/who they are, where they want to go, and what they stand for.
- Information on public companies is much more readily available than info on private companies or subsidiaries.
- SWOTs may be part of a company's profile and readily available.
Company Profiles
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowProvides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies.
To find company information, search the company's name or ticker symbol in the search box. - S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowFull text of many S&P products, including the Stock Reports, Corporation Records, Industry Surveys, and more.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information.
To find company profiles, click "Company Profiles" in the top navigation.
Business Articles
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 3,000 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and more.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowA full text news wire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.
- Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive and easy to navigate collection of over 4,000 leading business and trade publications. Incorporates coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
- New York Times (Articles Only) This link opens in a new windowFull text searchable content from nytimes.com and New York Times blogs from 1980 to the present.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowFull text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, newspaper columns as well as 24 TV and radio news transcripts. Also contains indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
- Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowFor business students and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full text periodicals.
Resources at Multnomah County Library
If you have a Multnomah County Library card, you can also access their resources. They have a variety of business databases, including some that PCC doesn't have.
Multnomah County Library Databases - Choose "Local Business" in the "Topics" box
- Simply Analyticsrequires MCL library card number
- Regional Business Newsrequires MCL library card number
Company profiles and other specialized tools
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowBrings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
- S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowFull text of many S&P products, including the Stock Reports, Corporation Records, Industry Surveys, and more.
- Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new windowContent covers starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax and more. Includes nearly 200 business journals and reference books.
Market and Industry Research
Industry Classifications
When researching industry information, it is helpful to find the NAICS or SIC code for that industry, though all the industry databases also allow a keyword search. You can search some databases by NAICS and/or SIC code to get industry information.
Industry and Trade Associations
An industry association is established to advocate for the industry and associated companies. They collect and provide unique data/articles/reports. Sometimes these sources are on their websites for free.
To find the industry association websites:
- Do a Google search with keywords followed by "association".
- Industry profiles in library databases may have a section for related associations.
Databases for Market Research
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowBrings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 3,000 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and more.
- S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowFull text of many S&P products, including the Stock Reports, Corporation Records, Industry Surveys, and more.
Corporate Accountability Watch
- CorpWatch"Non-profit investigative research and journalism to expose corporate malfeasance and to advocate for multinational corporate accountability and transparency"
- Corporate Subsidy Tracker & Violation TrackerTracks economic development subsidies and other forms of government financial assistance to business, as well as regulatory violations by businesses.
- Federal Contractor Misconduct DatabaseA "compilation of misconduct and alleged misconduct committed by the top federal government contractors from 1995 to the present."
- OpenSecrets.org - Organization ProfilesOnline directory of corporate lobbying and donations to political parties and candidates. Use the "Search for an organization" search box (left side of the screen) to search by company name.
Corporate Social Responsibility
Sustainability report or corporate social responsibility report, if issued, can be found on the company website. Other resources include:
- Sustainability Disclosure DatabasePublished by the Global Reporting Initiative.
- CorporateRegister.comRequires free registration. An "independent, privately held & self-funded organisation based in the UK."
- Find a B Corp"B Corps are for-profit companies certified by the nonprofit B Lab to meet rigorous standards of social and environmental performance, accountability, and transparency."