BA 150, 250 & 278 - Sickert: Websites and Articles
Resources for entrepreneurship
- Small Business Development CenterThe Oregon Small Business Development Center at Portland Community College has helped thousands of business owners in the Portland, OR metro region over the last 35+ years. They combine one-on-one business advising with training programs taught by business experts, giving small business clients the resources they need to grow.
- United States Census DataUnited States population demographic information from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Consumer Expenditure SurveyBureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Expenditure Survey includes "information on buying habits of America's consumers."
- Pew Research CenterContains survey reports, demographic studies, and data-driven analysis.
- American Customer Satisfaction IndexMeasures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets.
- ESRI TapestryEnter zip code to get top segments in that area. Segment profile covers demographic and lifestyle traits.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 3,000 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and more.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowA full text news wire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.
- Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive and easy to navigate collection of over 4,000 leading business and trade publications. Incorporates coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
- New York Times (Articles Only) This link opens in a new windowFull text searchable content from nytimes.com and New York Times blogs from 1980 to the present.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowFull text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, newspaper columns as well as 24 TV and radio news transcripts. Also contains indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
- Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowFor business students and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full text periodicals.
When researching industry information, it is helpful to find the NAICS or SIC code for that industry, though all the industry databases also allow a keyword search. You can search many of the library databases by NAICS and/or SIC code to get industry information.
Resources at Multnomah County Library
If you have a Multnomah County Library card, you can also access their resources. They have a variety of business databases, including some that PCC doesn't have.
Multnomah County Library Databases - Choose "Local Business" in the "Topics" box
Company profiles and other specialized tools
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowBrings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
- S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowFull text of many S&P products, including the Stock Reports, Corporation Records, Industry Surveys, and more.
- Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new windowContent covers starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax and more. Includes nearly 200 business journals and reference books.