A-Z Databases

Academic OneFile is a starting point for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, it contains millions of articles available in full-text. Includes full-text New York Times content from 1995 to present.

Full text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.

Over 64,000 scholarly videos in multiple subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film & cinema, health, music and dance, news and current affairs, science, and much more. Programs include documentaries, interviews, performances, news, raw footage, and archival materials. Note: Some video content in Alexander Street Video, such as Sony Classic Pictures content, is protected by DRM (Digital Rights Management) technology. Due to this DRM requirement, certain videos will not play on Apple devices or the Safari browser as they lack the technology required to play protected video.

An online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. It contains nearly 9,000 online encyclopedia articles, terms, images and videos related to sciences and technology. The Study Center provides essay topics, study guides and bibliographies.

AgeLine focuses exclusively on the population aged 50 and issues of aging. It includes aging-related content from the Health Science, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library.

With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of more than 400 titles is focused on agriculture and its related fields: from farming to scientific research in horticulture.

Full text for over 180 publications (many peer-reviewed) covering alternative and complementary medicine.

A full text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. View the Alt-Press Watch handout.

As of August 1, 2024, the ARTstor platform is retired. The ARTstor Digital Library now resides on the JSTOR platform. JSTOR images include more than 3.5 million images. You must register for a JSTOR account to save any images for future reference and to use JSTOR's presentation tools. To register for a user account, you must either be logged into JSTOR from on campus or through the JSTOR database link on the library website. To stay logged in, select “Keep me Logged In” when registering for an account.

Because Psychology is such a broad field, it helps to have some background reading to bring you up to speed when beginning a research project. The Psychology Encyclopedia Collection searches 44 different books that give background information in Psychology. All sources come with a citation and the ability to save the article to Google Drive or email it to yourself.

Full text articles from 280 biology journals, many of them peer-reviewed.

This database includes the option to search by author, browse new titles or genres, locate book awards, do graphical searches, find recommended reading lists, find book reviews, and much more. If you have ever wondered what to read next, this can help you make an informed choice.

Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.

A comprehensive and easy to navigate collection of over 4,000 leading business and trade publications. Incorporates coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.

Brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.

Full text for over 3,000 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and more.

This eBook collection features approximately 10,000 academic titles in science, technology, engineering, and math. Coverage is from 1919-Present!

News and information about issues in higher education. Includes academic job listings.

The most comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals including nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, medicine, general health and more.

News content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Images, videos, and audio selections are included. Cross-disciplinary subjects include Arts, Biography, Business, Geography, History, Literature, Political Science, Religion & Philosophy, Social Care and Public Health, and Science & Technology.

An online collection of college catalogs. Search by college name, geographic area, or specific criteria such as tuition, major, or enrollment. Includes selected non-U.S. schools as well.

Full-text articles relating to all aspects of communication and mass media.

Over 250 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.

Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

Information and current trends in high technology. This database features over 300 full text periodicals covering topics such as programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.

Topical, full text reports on controversial issues. Each report features a summary, chronology, and bibliography. Updated weekly.

Reference resource for physical constants, symbols, material properties, conversion factors, and much more. 92nd Edition. To learn more about using the handbook, including the interactive tables feature, visit the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics tour.

Provides online versions of 500 published reference works, including general and specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias. Try the Concept Map to search for terms and topics that are interconnected and displayed in a visual form.

Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, forensic scientist or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection offers more than 700 journals.

Includes 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as reference content. Coverage includes searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

This database features musical and drama productions for Theatre and the Performing Arts. It includes exclusive productions from Broadway HD.

Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering a variety of subjects in many languages.

Useful for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 250 journals.

An evidence-based tool designed to help nurses and allied health professionals master skills, obtain fast answers to questions about disease and conditions topics, signs and symptoms, test and labs and care interventions. Continuing education units (CEUs) are available.

Ebook Central is an e-book platform that combines EBL and eBrary in one central location. Browse and check out hundreds of thousands of e-book titles in the sciences, humanities, the arts, business, computer science, engineering, and other academic disciplines. Offline viewing options are available. For additional help, see Getting Started with Ebook Central and Ebook Central: Copy, Print, and Download.

Search from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile

EBSCOhost eBook Collection allows searching and reading thousands of full text titles. Subjects covered include computer science, philosophy, education, mathematics, and many others. To learn more, watch the searching eBooks on EBSCOhost video tutorial. Need to read a book offline? Learn how by watching the downloading eBooks on EBSCOhost video tutorial.

PCC library has purchased a small eBook collection from EBSCO. These books may be read on a desktop, laptop, or mobile device using just a browser. No special software or hardware is needed. Downloading an eBook is not available at this time.

This collection provides periodicals focusing on topics in economics. It has more than 450 full-text journals and regular feeds of videos from Forbes.com that contain business news coverage and interviews with CEO's.

A collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports for any educator -- from the school teacher and administrator to those studying at the collegiate and graduate level.

Kids InfoBits is an easy-to-use resource for children and English language learners, featuring full-text articles and images on a broad range of educational topics.

A selection of online encyclopedias that provides general overviews of topics across many subjects. Start here to get working definitions of key concepts and a big picture view of your topic.

Content covers starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax and more. Includes nearly 200 business journals and reference books.

For business students and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full text periodicals.

Videos, interactive maps, news sources, refereed case studies, and primary source articles are included. Browseable by issue or topic as well as by location.

Answers environmentally-related inquiries with coverage of more than 3.3 million articles from more than 700 journals and reference content from Delmar, Cengage Learning. Robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center from the U.S. Dept. of Education, lists journal articles and educational documents (lesson plans, studies, etc.). 1966 - present.

Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press. Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Also a good source of ethnic recipes. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. View the Ethnic NewsWatch handout

Legal research database of federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, constitutions, and court rules. Fastcase provides federal and state case law in an HTML format which can be downloaded to a PDF or printed. Fastcase’s search software ranks the best cases first and enables the re-sorting of results to help users streamline their legal research.

Thousands of high-resolution streaming videos organized by subject. For academic research as well as general interest, this collection includes archival and newsreel films as well as career and technical videos.

Provides more than 150 full-text magazines and journals that are covered in indices such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide support for research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

A unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American, South American and Spanish publishers. Full text coverage for more than 150 scholarly Spanish language journals.

Gale eBooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.

Find magazine and journal articles here. You can search all of the Gale databases at once or select just the ones you want.

A collection of more than 100 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture, with the addition of over 20 subject specific reference sources, this collection provides information for gardening enthusiasts and professionals alike.

This collection of more than 30 journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.

Focusing on how gender impacts diverse subject areas, resources include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, as well as NGO and government publications. Archival material from as early as 1970 provides a historical perspective on the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and changes in gender roles. View the GenderWatch handout

General OneFile is a periodical resource with over 6500 full text titles, many dating back as far as 1980. It contains popular, business and professional journals, NPR audio files complete with transcripts, and Fodor's travel guides.

Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials. If using Google Scholar from a PCC campus, you can access full text articles. If PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article. From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See How to Search PCC Library on Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.

Scholarly, government and general-interest content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

HRCA contains full text from nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.

Search EBSCOhost's Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, and others (including Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier) at the same time. Topics include consumer health information, nursing and allied health, pre-clinical sciences, aging, and more.

Provides access to medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.

Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

HeinOnline Academic is a government documents and legal research database. It contains over 1600 full-text legal periodicals, historical texts, and foreign and international materials. Primary legal materials include the Federal Register, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Reports. U.S. Supreme court decisions, presidential documents, attorney general opinions, state and federal case law, and much more.

This edition has many new topics plus options for customizing, charting and downloading the data. Some statistics go as far back as Colonial times. Each topic includes essays plus data tables.

Find reliable background material on topics in the History of the Middle East.

Find reliable background material on topics in the History of the United States

Find reliable background material on topics about Western Civilization.

This collection of more than 200 home-improvement focused titles covers such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more will meet the needs of hobbyists and professionals alike.

This collection of more than 800 journals, 29 subject-specific Cengage Learning reference titles, and travel handbooks from Fodor's provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism fields. A great resource for curious travelers and serious researchers.

This collection provides current and accurate information for the information professional from nearly 100 leading industry journals. Coverage includes such topics as data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more.

A collection of Hispanic magazines with full text. Covers business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects.

This collection targeted towards individual property owners to multinational corporations, comprises nearly 40 journals that take a broad view of the insurance and liability industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues.

JSTOR has full text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, as far back as 18xx up to 3-5 years ago. Note: It does not include current issues of the journals. All ARTstor image collections are now part of JSTOR, and can be searched using the "Images" tab then selecting "ARTstor collections".

Streaming videos organized by subject, for academic research as well as general interest. Contains many genres, from documentaries to movies to training videos. Publishers include BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, New Day Films, PBS, etc.

Note: Kanopy does not support Windows 7 and Internet Explorer. If you are having trouble viewing Kanopy videos, you may need to upgrade or change your browser. See What Desktop Browsers and Systems are Supported by Kanopy and How to Troubleshoot Browser Issues for additional help.

Interactive practice tests and tutorials to help you succeed on academic or licensing tests. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. You must sign in before taking a test.

Full text for more than 260 scholarly law journals.

This database provides online access to hundreds of NOLO legal reference books and various legal forms. To log in, enter county of residence for “patron id” and “Oregon" as the password. Neither is case sensitive.

Provides full-text coverage of major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.

PCC Library provides access to a small collection of streaming audiobooks, both fiction and non-fiction. You can use an internet browser or a mobile app to listen.,

Books, research reports, proceedings, and more than 600 periodicals covering library science, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Searches Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (authors who lived during the 19th century) and Poetry Criticism (includes poets and their poems). Includes scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.

This database provides access to authors and literary works throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, plays, images, biographies and more.

Full text for over 500 general interest and current events magazines.

Full text of general interest magazine articles, reference and travel books, biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags.

A Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. Full text for more than 130 peer-reviewed medical journals.

Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including allied health. Citations available from 1965 - present; some full text.

Cross-disciplinary approach to research including literature, biography, history, science,m culture, and over 300 topic pages and overviews on a variety of social issues. Includes books, images, bibliographies, audio, video, newspapers, and more.

Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and abstracts for about 400 titles.

[Limit: 10 simultaneous users] From the National Fire Protection Association, this online edition provides access to the current National Electrical Code (NFPA 70).

[Limit: 10 simultaneous users] The National Fire Protection Association's codes and standards. This online edition provides access to the complete set of nearly 300 codes. The NEC (National Electric Code) is also available in the National Fire Codes as NFPA 70.

Full text searchable content from nytimes.com and New York Times blogs from 1980 to the present.

Unlimited access to the New York Times on NYTimes.com. See Get Started with the New York Times Online to set up your subscription through PCC Library. Once you have set up your subscription, you can go directly to NYTimes.com and sign in using your personal account.

Provides access to selected articles from nearly 2,500 major newspapers, including U.S. regional, national, and local papers as well as leading titles from around the world. Does not include The Oregonian.

Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, newspaper columns as well as 24 TV and radio news transcripts. Also contains indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.

Offers researchers looking for answers to nursing or allied health questions millions of articles found in over 1,100 journals. Provides full-text coverage of many of the titles cited in CINAHL.

A one-stop source for information on current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles on both sides of an issue, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full text magazine and newspaper articles. View the Opposing Viewpoints tutorial

Provides a system of occupational and educational information to help Oregonians learn about the world of work and education.

Search the last six months of stories, columns, and opinions written by The Oregonian staff. Please note: The Oregonian is no longer available through LexisNexis. For more information, please read about the changes to accessing The Oregonian.

PCC Library provides access to a small collection of ebooks and streaming audiobooks, both fiction and non-fiction. You can use an internet browser or a mobile app to listen to audiobooks.

Limited to 5 concurrent users. Features over 45,000 articles and images covering every aspect of the visual arts. There are over 7,000 searchable images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art as well as links to other museums and galleries.

More than 600,000 words defined, including historical meanings, word origins, and pronunciations. Examples of past usage are shown through quotations from a rich variety of English language sources.

PCC’s YouTube channel contains links to hundreds of PCC-produced educational and instructional videos that can be included in your course(s). As with many YouTube videos, those on PCC’s channel can be embedded in D2L/Brightspace and/or shared with your students via email or other means. Click on the “Videos” tab to see only the most recent videos on the channel.

Over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing researchers with access to topics discussed in the field. Includes proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.

Focused on issues in popular culture. Provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. A collection of more than 100 subject-appropriate full text periodicals.

Features full text coverage of the top 1,000 most searched magazines across Gale's InfoTrac. Current events, sports, science, health and more.

This platform contains 7,000+ newspapers and magazines, including international sources from many countries, in many languages. (Please ignore the access countdown. Your time will reset at each login.) Download your favorite publications to your device to read anytime, anywhere.

A highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, designed for professional educators.

Search a wide variety of diverse content across all disciplines. Includes subject area searches for the Arts, eBooks, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, News & Newspapers, Science & Technology, and Social Sciences.

Search a subset of Gale with a focus on basic understandings of the study of the mind, emotions, and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Researchers will have access to nearly 500 subject-appropriate full text periodicals.

Search EBSCOhost's Psychology Collection, Academic Search Premier, and MasterFile Premier at the same time. Topics in the Psychology Collection include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Start here if you are looking for scholarly (peer-reviewed) psychology articles. PsycINFO is the single most comprehensive psychology article collection. Full-text articles from PsycARTICLES are included here. View the PsycINFO handout.

This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs and focuses on the mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Subject coverage includes traumatic stress and mental health, assessment, prevention, treatment, mental health services, professional ethics, public policy, and traumatized populations.

A full text news wire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.

Full text coverage of topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Full text of many S&P products, including the Stock Reports, Corporation Records, Industry Surveys, and more.

This collection features videos that demonstrate social work in action. It covers the skills necessary to become a social worker and provides insight into different client groups, interviews with practitioners, challenges, and case studies.

A collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments -- including such topics as particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology.

Full text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online. View "How to Use Science Direct" .

Full text information on social issues, science, health, history, government, business, and the arts and humanities. Citations include Lexile reading levels. View the SIRS Knowledge Source handout [pdf].

A comprehensive statistical reference on the economic, social and political organization of the United States.

A collection of feature films being taught by PCC faculty in film courses.

Explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. Citations include Lexile reading levels.

A collection of full text periodicals, reference works, and primary sources as well as scholarly analyses. Images, videos, and audio recordings bring additional perspectives to United States history from pre-colonial times to the present.

This collection of over 40 journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought and events in U.S. History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher.

Full text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune

Full text coverage for more than 300 trade and industry-related periodicals including Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.

Providing content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Full text searchable content from 1984 to the present. The Wall Street Journal is the single most authoritative source of global and national business reporting.

A definitive collection of 100 subject-specific full text periodicals for students of history, social sciences, and current events that provides insight into conflicts and their multiple causes.

This collection of nearly 40 journals provides balanced coverage of both the current thought and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Useful both to the novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher.

Search for books, magazines, videos and other materials published around the world -- and see which libraries have them.