Portland Metro and Oregon Research: News
Support for research about local issues, places, laws, people, history, and more.
What is news good for?
News sources --
- provide timely information on a topic and may be the only source of information on a very recent event (other than social media);
- often provide useful background information to help you understand the big picture;
- can provide a sense of popular opinion about a certain issue and usually reflect a variety of points of view as journalists try to avoid bias;
- often contain first-hand accounts of people who experienced an event or are impacted by an issue;
- are usually written by professional journalists (who are only as credible as the sources they use) and reviewed by an editor.
Oregonian Access
The oregonlive.com web site provides free full-text access to many Oregonian articles from the last few years, and supports fee-based article delivery of all Oregonian articles ($1.95 per article). The Multnomah County Public Library also provides online full text access to the Historical Oregonian (1861-1987) and current Oregonian (1987-present) to all cardholders.
Search the Oregon Newspaper Index which indexes (but does not provide full-text access to) over 845,000 articles in the Oregonian newspaper from 1851-1987. This index is maintained by the University of Oregon.
Portland-Area College Newspapers
Other Places to Search for Oregon News
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowFull text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, newspaper columns as well as 24 TV and radio news transcripts. Also contains indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.