Clinical Research: PCC Library databases
PCC Library databases
PCC Library databases are available to currently enrolled PCC students, and PCC staff and faculty, from on- or -off-campus. These are subscription bibliographic databases for which the PCC Library pays, and they are restricted to PCC affiliated folks.
To access from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your MyPCC user name and password.
Databases -- peer-reviewed research articles
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 1,000 peer-reviewed life sciences, Health Science, physical sciences, and engineering journals with citation information for thousands more. Look for the "Full-text available" indicators to view articles online. View the Science Direct handout.
- Health and Medicine Resources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch EBSCOhost's Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus, MedicLatina, MEDLINE, and others (including Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier) at the same time. Topics include consumer health information, nursing and allied health, pre-clinical sciences, aging, and more.
- Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 180 publications (many peer-reviewed) covering alternative and complementary medicine.
- MedlinePLUSProvides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues, as well as the latest treatments, information on drugs and supplements. Find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
- Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.
Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly articles, reports, books, and other materials, including articles in PCC Library databases.
From home, you will need to set your Google Scholar preferences to access PCC Library resources. See Using Google Scholar for directions on how to set your Google Scholar preferences at home.
Once you've linked Google Scholar to PCC Library on your computer, if PCC has access to an article, a "Find it @ PCC" link will appear to the right of the search result. Click “Find it @ PCC” to go to the library catalog where you will be offered a choice to view the article.
- How to make the most of Google ScholarStep by step instructions on how to link Google Scholar to PCC Library databases on your home computer.