ESR 173 Oakley: Finding News and Other Articles
This guide is designed to address the specifics of your assignment like finding news sources, thinking about source quality, and citing sources. The Library does have another, very detailed and complete, Climate Change research guide which has a whole section about "solutions".
Selected National News Sources
- New York Times - Environmental CoverageFor free access to the New York Times with no paywall, you can use the Library subscription.
- Washington Post - Health and ScienceFor free access to the Washington Post, use the Library subscription to Newspaper Source or US Major Dailies
Local News
Unfortunately, finding good local news can often be more challenging than finding good national news. Forces in the media/publishing world have meant a decline of local news sources and the tools we have in the library to help find high quality information are more geared toward publications with a national audience. Below are some local news sources you can check out for local topics.
- OregonLive/The OregonianOregonLive is a bit unfortunate -- lots of pop up ads and many paywalled articles. Multnomah County Library has online subscription access for cardholders, if you have a card with the public library.
- Willamette WeekOne of Portland's alternative weekly newspapers.
Library Subscriptions to News Sources
- New York Times Online This link opens in a new windowUnlimited access to the New York Times on NYTimes.com. See Get Started with the New York Times Online to set up your subscription through PCC Library. Once you have set up your subscription, you can go directly to NYTimes.com and sign in using your personal account.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
- News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to selected articles from nearly 2,500 major newspapers, including U.S. regional, national, and local papers as well as leading titles from around the world. Does not include The Oregonian.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowFull text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, newspaper columns as well as 24 TV and radio news transcripts. Also contains indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowThe Wall Street Journal focuses on global and national business reporting so this would be useful to the extent that your topic touches on business-related issues.
Beyond Newspapers
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 3,000 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and more.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowThis platform contains 7,000+ newspapers and magazines, including international sources from many countries, in many languages. (Please ignore the access countdown. Your time will reset at each login.) Download your favorite publications to your device to read anytime, anywhere.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowScholarly, government and general-interest content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowVideos, interactive maps, news sources, refereed case studies, and primary source articles are included. Browseable by issue or topic as well as by location.
- SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new windowFull text information on social issues, science, health, history, government, business, and the arts and humanities. Citations include Lexile reading levels. View the SIRS Knowledge Source handout [pdf].
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowThis is the big general database we often recommend for starting your research (it is what the "Articles" tab on the library home page searches).
The library databases below include newspaper articles but also articles from magazines and even from scientific/research journals, these could augment your news searches.