WR 122 Hills Fall 2021: Home
Background Information
- Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new windowBefore you dive deeply into research, remember that many information sources are written assuming you know something about the topic. The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of 200 encyclopedias that can give you background information on almost everything.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowSearch from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile
Google Advanced. This can save a lot of time.
Big Chicken by ISBN: 9781426217661Publication Date: 2017-09-12How antibiotics created modern food agriculture and changed the way the world eats.
Good Websites!
New York Times Food section. There are interesting articles about the topic of food in addition to recipes and restaurant reviews. Look for the tiny links to "Food Prices and Supply" "Food Safety" "Local Food" and "Organic Food."
Civil Eats. A website for organizations working to improve farming techniques, food processing, and the like. Well done. However, pick your links carefully, as it will ask you to subscribe quickly.
Topic Exploration
- SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new windowFull text information on social issues, science, health, history, government, business, and the arts and humanities. Citations include Lexile reading levels. View the SIRS Knowledge Source handout [pdf].
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowA one-stop source for information on current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles on both sides of an issue, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full text magazine and newspaper articles. View the Opposing Viewpoints handout [pdf]
- Agriculture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowWith a strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of more than 400 titles is focused on agriculture and its related fields: from farming to scientific research in horticulture.
- Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowIncludes 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as reference content. Coverage includes searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
- Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA collection of more than 100 journals focused on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture, with the addition of over 20 subject specific reference sources, this collection provides information for gardening enthusiasts and professionals alike.
- Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowFull text for over 180 publications (many peer-reviewed) covering alternative and complementary medicine.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new windowA full text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. View the Alt-Press Watch handout.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowScholarly, government and general-interest content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowInformation on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press. Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Also a good source of ethnic recipes. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. View the Ethnic NewsWatch handout
Link to Food and Nutrition Research Guide
Chat with a Librarian
Need to talk to a librarian? Use our chat system. Click the button to open the chat window.
Chat with a Librarian!