Emergency Medical Services (EMS/EMT): Find Articles
Suggested Journals and Magazines
- The American Journal of Emergency MedicineCovers all areas of emergency medicine.
We have access to 1995-present. - BCM Emergency MedicineProvides research articles in all aspects of emergency medicine, trauma, and pre-hospital care.
We have access to 2006-present. - Case Reports in Emergency MedicineCase reports in all areas of emergency medicine.
We have access to 2012-present. - EMS MagazineCovers critical medical, legal and psychosocial issues for emergency medical technicians, paramedics, administrators, physicians, nurses, and other emergency-care personnel.
We have access to 2007-present. - EMS WorldProvides news and training for paramedics and EMTs, as well as for other prehospital practitioners and public safety responders. Also available in print.
We have 2004-present. - International Journal of Emergency MedicineCovers the practice of emergency medicine in a variety of settings, from urban emergency departments to rural clinics in the developing world, to humanitarian and disaster situations.
We have access to 2013-present. - JEMS : a journal of emergency medical servicesJEMS
JEMS (Journal of Emergency Medical Services) seeks to improve patient care in the prehospital setting and promote positive change in EMS by delivering information and education from industry leaders, change makers and emerging voices. - Journal of Emergencies, Trauma, and ShockProvides information on research, education and dissemination of knowledge in the fields of Emergency Medicine, Traumatolgy and Shock Resuscitation thus promoting translational research by striking a synergy between basic science, clinical medicine and global health.
We have access to 2008-present. - Trauma ReportsFocuses on emergency care of adult & pediatric patients with moderate & severe traumatic injuries.
We have access to 2007-present.
Find a Specific Article
How to figure out if PCC has a specific article and (if we do) get the full-text:
- Use the PCC Library search box in the middle of the Library homepage to search for the title of the journal in which it was published (NOT the article title). TIP: If you don't know the title of the journal, try searching for the article title and the author(s) in Google to get that information.
- Find the journal title in the results list. If you find a result that says "Online Access" or "Available at" and a PCC campus location, that means it is available through the PCC Library. If it is available online, click on the Online Access link to be taken to full-text online database access for that journal. If it is available in print, click on the "Available at" link to find the location of the journal in the library.
- You should now be able to browse to the year and issue you want or to search the journal for the specific article title.
If PCC does not have access to full-text, you can request the article from another library.
Video: Find Articles through the PCC Library
Suggested Databases
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals including nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, medicine, general health and more.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowScholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowSearch from a wide range of research databases for magazine and journal articles. Updated daily. View the EBSCOhost handout
Mobile URL: EBSCOhost Mobile