Political Science: International
Current and Recent Events
- The GuardianThe Guardian is based in the UK and this links to their International edition which is great for headlines from around the world.
- PressReaderPressReader is an app through which you can read magazines and newspapers from all around the world. This page explains how to use it.
- Al JazeeraAl Jazeera is based in Qatar and is a great source for finding news from around the world from a different perspective than what we usually see.
- Fact CheckDid that politician tell me a lie? From the Annenberg Foundation.
Human Rights research
Amnesty International's "State of the World's Human Rights" for 2024. Examines the current state of human rights around the world in over 150 different countries.
International Newspapers and Videos of Foreign Lands
- The Films on Demand streaming video collection of movies about various countries and situations in the world. Frequently updated.
Lake Karumbar in Pakistan
Magazine and Scholarly (Peer-reviewed) Article Collections
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 4,500 scholarly social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. 3,700 are peer-reviewed.
- New York Times (Articles Only) This link opens in a new windowFull text searchable content from nytimes.com and New York Times blogs from 1980 to the present.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers from five U.S. national and regional newspapers: New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and the Chicago Tribune
- Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic minority and native press. Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Also a good source of ethnic recipes. Coverage is from 1980 to the present. View the Ethnic NewsWatch handout
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new windowA full text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. View the Alt-Press Watch handout.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR has full text of over 1000 scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, as far back as 18xx up to 3-5 years ago. Note: It does not include current issues of the journals. All ARTstor image collections are now part of JSTOR, and can be searched using the "Images" tab then selecting "ARTstor collections".
This work by PCC Library is licensed by Portland Community College under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.- Last Updated: Feb 26, 2025 4:21 PM
- URL: https://guides.pcc.edu/political-science
- Print Page
Subjects: Social Science