Anatomy and Physiology: Background info

Online reference

MEDLINEplus
Good for illustrations, as well as basic information about diseases and conditions. Free from the National Library of Medicine.

Access Science This link opens in a new window
An online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. It contains nearly 9,000 online encyclopedia articles, terms, images and videos related to sciences and technology. The Study Center provides essay topics, study guides and bibliographies.
Gale Ebooks (formerly GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Current medical information for allied health professionals. The Merck Manual’s 17th, Centennial Edition is available free, searchable by keyword or the table of contents. Also available in print on all campuses - call number R 615.02 M47 2006

Anatomy Atlases
Atlases of human anatomy in cross section.
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
Featuring 1,247 pictures from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries.
Human Anatomy Online
Tutorials and animated guides to the body systems.
Interactive Body
From the BBC, test your skills with online interactive games on the organs, muscles, skeleton, senses, and nervous system.

PCC Libraries have color atlases of the human body, some in the reference section for library use only and some for check out.