Queer Resources Guide: Find Magazine and Journal Articles

Magazines at the Library

These popular LGBTQ magazines can be accessed full-text online through the PCC library databases by clicking on the title.

The Advocate
The Advocate is also available in print at the Rock Creek and Sylvania libraries.
Out
Out is also available in print at the Rock Creek library.

These library databases contain articles specifically relevant to gender and sexuality.

Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Useful for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 250 journals.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 30 journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Focusing on how gender impacts diverse subject areas, resources include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, as well as NGO and government publications. Archival material from as early as 1970 provides a historical perspective on the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and changes in gender roles. View the GenderWatch handout

Find these articles and many more through the PCC Library databases.

LGBTQ+ Rights: Do Recent Measures Amount to a "License to Discriminate"?
A 2024 Congressional Quarterly Report.
Q ueering, Queer Theory, and Early Modern Culture Article from the Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender that explores the histories and meanings of queer.
Transgender Rights This is a collection of viewpoint articles, statistics, and magazine, journal, and newspaper articles from the Opposing Viewpoints database related to transgender people and issues.
The Long Reach of Discrimination Chapter from a research book called LGBTQ in America.